Research Guides: IDS 101: Nation of Immigrants: Reference Books

Statue of Liberty

Multicultural American Encyclopedias

The Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Call Number: Ref E184.A1 G14 2014
ISBN: 0787675512
Publication Date: 2014
Multicultural America
Call Number: Ref E184.A1 M815 2011
ISBN: 9780313357862
Publication Date: 2011
People of Color in the United States
Call Number: Ref E184.A1 P384 2016
ISBN: 1610698541
Publication Date: 2016
All of Volume 4.

Encyclopedias and More

Oxford Reference Online
100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable web database.
Encyclopaedia Britannica
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.
Oxford English Dictionary
The online version of the classic dictionary. An unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics
Call Number: HAT Reference BJ 63 .E69 2012
ISBN: 0123736323
Publication Date: 2011
Volume 3, pages 128-136, Mobility (Migration)
Encyclopedia of Religion in America
Call Number: HAT Reference BL 2520 .E52 2010
ISBN: 0872895807
Publication Date: 2010
Volume 2, pages 1063-1068, Immigration: Since the 1965 Immigration Act
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Call Number: HAT Reference CB 9 .N49 2005
ISBN: 0684313774
Publication Date: 2004
Volume 1, pages 335-341, Citizenship
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
Call Number: HAT Reference DS 35.53 .O96 2009
ISBN: 0195305132
Publication Date: 2009
Volume 5, pages 474-483, United States of America
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
Call Number: HAT Reference E 169.1 .E626 2001
ISBN: 0684805006
Publication Date: 2000
Volume 2, pages 52-101, Immigration and Immigrants
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
Call Number: HAT Reference E 169.1 .O945 2013
ISBN: 0199764352
Publication Date: 2013
Volume 1, page 36, Americanization Movement
Dictionary of American History
Call Number: HAT Reference E 174 .D52 2003
ISBN: 0684805332
Publication Date: 2002
Volume 4, pages 230-232, Immigration Act of 1965
People of Color in the United States
Call Number: HAT Reference E 184.A1 P384 2016
ISBN: 1610698541
Publication Date: 2016
Volume 4, pages 203-2212, Indigenous Immigrants
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Call Number: HAT Reference H 41.I58 2015
ISBN: 0080970869
Publication Date: 2015
Volume 11, pages 628-681, Immigration (several good articles)
SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society
Call Number: HAT Reference HB 61 .S17564 2015
ISBN: 1452226431
Publication Date: 2016
Volume 2, pages 910-913, Immigrant Enclaves
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Call Number: HAT Reference HM 425 .B53 2007
ISBN: 1405124334
Publication Date: 2007
Volume 5, pages 2258-2262, Immigration and Language.
American Immigration
Call Number: HAT Reference JV 6465 .E53 2013
ISBN: 9780765682123
Publication Date: 2013
Volume 1, pages 285-307, The Post 9/11 Era (2001 - Present)
Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education
Call Number: HAT Reference LC 1099 .E53 2012
ISBN: 1412981522
Publication Date: 2012
Volume 2, pages 1128-1132, Immigrant Children, Education of
Movies in American History
Call Number: HAT Reference PN 1993.5.U6 M685 2011
ISBN: 9781598842968
Publication Date: 2011
Volume 3, pages 935-939, Ethnic and Immigrant Culture Cinema
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature
Call Number: HAT Reference PS 153.M56 G74 2005
ISBN: 031333059X
Publication Date: 2005
Volume 3, pages 1048-1052, Immigration

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Doreen Simonsen

Email Me

Contact:

Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343

Subjects: Art & Art History, Chinese, Cinema Studies, Classics, English, French, German, Global Cultural Studies, History, Japanese, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian, Spanish, Theatre

What Librarians Can Do for You

You can set up an individual research consultation with a subject librarian for research help. Here are a few other things that we can do for you:

Show you the best places to begin your research.
Locate the information you need within our library or elsewhere.
Help you cite information correctly (e.g. APA style).
Judge the quality & reliability of information.
Teach you how to use information ethically (e.g. avoiding plagiarism).
Determine whether something is peer-reviewed.

Hours during the Academic Year

Library Hours

Mon-Thur 8 a.m. -- Midnight
Friday 8 a.m. -- 6 p.m.
Saturday 10 a.m. -- 6 p.m.
Sunday 10 a.m. -- Midnight

Reference Hours

Mon-Wed 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
6 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Thursday 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.

Friday 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m
Saturday (Closed)
Sunday (Closed)

Archives Hours

Contact: archives@willamette.edu for an appointment.

Note: The library is open to the general public Monday-Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. and on Saturday from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

More calendar info...

IDS 101: Nation of Immigrants: Reference Books