Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Authoritative Reference Sources vs Wikipedia
Wikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content it is considered unreliable. College faculty typically do not consider Wikipedia a credible information source.
Instead, use the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your research paper. These resources have gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.
Encyclopedias and More
Oxford Music Online
Contains the online version of the classic New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, as well as online versions of the Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Oxford Reference Online
100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable web database.
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.
Below are key reference books that provide a general overview
of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include
references and lists of further readings.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference BH56 .E53 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Volume 1, pages 46-49, Aleatoric Processes
Encyclopedia of Religion in America
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference (BL2520 .E52 2010)
Publication Date: 2010
Volume 3, page 1466-1471, Music: Contemporary Christian
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference (CB9 .N49 2005 )
Publication Date: 2004
Volume 4, pages 1530-1537, Musical Performances & Audiences
Shakespeares after Shakespeare
Call Number: HAT Reference PR2880.A1 S48 2007
Publication Date: 2006
Volume 1, pages 316-317, Forbidden Planet
Encyclopedia of New Media
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference (QA76.575 .E5368 2003)
Publication Date: 2002
pages 143-147, Digital Music
Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian
Subjects: Art & Art History
, Cinema Studies
, Latin American Studies
Music Reference Books
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by
Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks ML 100 .N48 2001
Publication Date: 2004