IDS 101: Untangling the Tangled Bank: Darwin and Racism

Academic Search Complete is an interdisciplinary databases that provides full text access to 8,500+ academic journals in the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, and multi-cultural journals. It also indexes nearly 12,500 peer-reviewed journals.

JSTOR is a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Search term highlighting, includes high-quality images. Current editions of journals are excluded due to embargos.

Search for Articles, Books, and more in JSTOR

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Be sure your Google Scholar preferences include Willamette University as your library (under library links) to access Willamette-licensed content. For more customization & info visit our Google Scholar page.

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, Christian Science Monitor, etc. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. It also contains selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers.

EBSCO Search Terms

• Keywords: Imperialism, Slavery, Colonialism, Genocide, Eugenics, Aryan, Totalitarianism, Social Darwinism, Ethnicity or Race, Prejudice or Bias or Racism, Intelligence, Science, Biology, Human Genetics, Justification
• People: Darwin, Herbert Spencer, Thomas Jefferson
• Locations: Delaware, Virginia, America, West Africa

Examples