Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
President Obama in a Baseball Cap
Encyclopedias and More
Oxford Reference Online
100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable web database.
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.
Oxford English Dictionary
The online version of the classic dictionary. An unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Authoritative Reference Sources vs Wikipedia
Wikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content it is considered unreliable. College faculty typically do not consider Wikipedia a credible information source.
Instead, use the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your research paper. These resources have gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.
Below are key reference books that provide a general overview
of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include
references and lists of further readings.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference BH56 .E53 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Volume 2, pages 146-150, Fashion: Dress in the World
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference CB361 .E52 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Volume 2, pages 27-32, Clothing
Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference D114 .D5
Publication Date: 1989
Volume 3, pages 621-626, Costume, Western European
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference DS735.A2 B47 2009
Publication Date: 2008
Volume 1, Pages 437-442, Clothing, Traditional
Routledge Companion to Latina/o Popular Culture
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference E184.S75 R75 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Pages 323-333, Claiming Style, Consuming Culture: The Politics of Latina Self-Styling and Fashion Lines
Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian
Subjects:Art & Art History
, Asian Studies
, Cinema Studies
, German & Russian
, Languages & Linguistics
, Latin American Studies
, Religious Studies
What Librarians Can Do for You
You can set up an individual research consultation with a subject librarian for research help. Here are a few other things that we can do for you:
- Show you the best places to begin your research.
- Locate the information you need within our library or elsewhere.
- Help you cite information correctly (e.g. APA style).
- Judge the quality & reliability of information.
- Teach you how to use information ethically (e.g. avoiding plagiarism).
- Determine whether something is peer-reviewed.
Hours during the Academic Year
Mon-Thur 9 a.m. -- 9 p.m.
Friday 9 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
Sunday 1 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Mon-Thur 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
6 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Friday 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m
Contact: firstname.lastname@example.org for an appointment.
Note: The library is closed to the general public and open to students, faculty, and staff with current Willamette ID.
More calendar info...