Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
(Image souce: Medlineplus.org)
Brings you info about diseases, conditions, & wellness issues in understandable language. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. Learn about the latest treatments, info on a drug or supplement, meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or conditions.
WebMD blends award-winning expertise in medicine, journalism, health communication and content creation to bring you the best health information possible. Their Independent Medical Review Board continuously reviews the site for accuracy and timeliness.
Body Mass Index Calculator (New York Times)
The Body Mass Index (BMI) is a fairly reliable indicator of total body fat, which is related to the risk of life-threatening diseases. The score is valid for both men and women, but it may overestimate body fat in athletes and others who have a muscular build. It may also underestimate body fat in older people and others who have lost muscle mass. To determine your BMI: * enter your weight & height, * click "Calculate" & your BMI appears in the calculator
Collaborative on Health & the Environment
Collaborative on Health and the Environment (CHE) is a diverse network of more than 3000 individual and organizational working to advance knowledge and effective action to links between human health and environmental factors. Includes database.
Health Information Translations
A Collaborative Initiative to Improve Health Education for Limited English Proficiency Patients.
This US Department of Health & Human Services resource contains valuable information on a variety of health topics. It includes an encyclopedia of over 1,600 health topics from the most trusted sources.
Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans
The U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion has issued its first Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans (2008) that describes the types and amounts of physical activity that offer substantial health benefits to Americans.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Website
SAMHSA provides current data and statistics from national data sets. Useful to health educators, students, and researchers seeking grants.
Trust for America's Health (TFAH)
Includes statistics, reports, and the health indicator data is available by state and compared to the national average. The data is more extensive than the National Center for Health Statistics.
Vaccination Resources (AAP)
This site provides information about immunization, the risks, benefits, different types of shots, etc.
Health & Nutrition
A to Z Health Topics (CDC)
This is a list of common health topics by the Center for Disease Control & Prevention.
Top 100 Health Websites You Can Trust by CAPHIS
This lists a limited number of resources that meet the quality criteria for currency, credibility, & content. Major topics include: General Health, Women's Health, Men's Health, Parenting & Kids, Senior Health, Specific Health, For Health Professionals, Drug Information Resources, and other useful health sites
Science.gov searches over 42 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. It's a great place to look for governmental reports or research if you're not sure which agencies might be involved.