It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Covers normal or abnormal regulation & integration of physiological mechanisms at all levels of biological organization, ranging from molecules to humans, including clinical investigations. Emphasizes regulation in genetically modified animals (GMOs); model organisms; development & tissue plasticity; neurohumoral control of circulation & hypertension; local control of circulation; cardiac & renal integration; thirst and volume, electrolyte homeostasis; glucose homeostasis & energy balance; appetite & obesity; inflammation & cytokines; integrative physiology of pregnancy-parturition-lactation; & thermoregulation & adaptations to exercise & environmental stress.
Covers innovative approaches to the study of cell and molecular physiology, specifically structure and function of cell membranes, contractile systems, cellular organelles, membrane channels, transporters, pumps, signal transduction, development, gene expression, cell-to-cell interactions, and the cell physiology of pathophysiological states.
Covers physiological, cellular, and molecular studies in whole animals and humans. Specific themes include, but are not limited to, mechanisms of hormone and growth factor action; hormonal and nutritional regulation of metabolism, inflammation, microbiome and energy balance; integrative organ cross talk; paracrine and autocrine control of endocrine cells; function and activation of hormone receptors; endocrine or metabolic control of channels, transporters, and membrane function; temporal analysis of hormone secretion and metabolism.
Covers current research on the biochemistry, physiology, and genetics of animals, primarily the environment, ecology, and evolution of the organism -- from cellular mechanisms to whole animal adaptations, from protozoa to mammals, from eggs to larvae to adult organisms.
Previous journal title of Physiological and Biochemical Zoology (PBZ). Covers current research on the biochemistry, physiology, and genetics of animals, primarily the environment, ecology, and evolution of the organism -- from cellular mechanisms to whole animal adaptations, from protozoa to mammals, from eggs to larvae to adult organisms.
Covers morphological investigation of invertebrates & vertebrates, reviews designed as comparative surveys summarizing current knowledge from an evolutionary perspective & method papers presenting new approaches or reviews on methods used in animal morphology.
Covers mechanisms of physiology, at the organismic, cellular and molecular levels of organization, including Neurobiology, Neuroethology, Sensory phys., Sensory ecology, Phys. basis of behavior, Hormonal control of behavior, Communication, Orientation, Locomotion, & Functional neuroanatomy.
Covers comparative physiology of invertebrate & vertebrate animals, specifically integrative studies that elucidate mechanisms at the whole-animal, organ, tissue, cellular and/or molecular levels; molecular & endocrine control of metabolism; membrane transport & nutrient absorption; respiration & gas exchange; circulation and body fluids; energy & temperature relations; muscle & exercise physiology; energetics & endocrinology of reproduction; evolutionary aspects of physiology.
Covers chemical and drug action at different levels of organization, biotransformation of xenobiotics, mechanisms of toxicity, including reactive oxygen species and carcinogenesis, endocrine disruptors, natural products chemistry, and signal transduction.
Covers more fundamental aspects and hypotheses in comparative physiology and biochemistry in areas such as genomics, functional genomics (transcriptomics), proteomics, metabolomics, and underlying bioinformatics.