Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Salem-Based Research Resources
State Library of Oregon Catalog
The primary focus of the library collection is state and federal publications, government research, and Oregon history.
(Any Oregon resident with current photo ID may check out circulating materials.)
Oregon Index Online
Created at the State Library of Oregon. Contains citations to articles published in Portland and Salem newspapers, magazines, book chapters, and more. (1900-1980)
Willamette Heritage Center Archives
The Willamette Heritage Center houses more than 13,000 objects and 200,000 photographic images. Our research library and archives contains more than 4,500 books and thousands of records.
Asahel Bush House Museum
Explores and interprets Salem’s Bush Family, Bush’s Pasture Park, the cultural diversity of Salem history and the development of early Oregon.
What is Peer-Review?
Peer-review is an evaluation process in which qualified individuals within specialized field of study reviews literature before it becomes published. This process helps keep standards held by the profession, improves the quality of work being published, and provides credibility & reliability to published work & authors publishing the work. The 5-minute video below describes and discusses the importance of peer-review and its process.
( video, 3 min.) NCSU
Academic Search Premier
is a full-text interdisciplinary database that can filter to peer-reviewed and full-text literature. This is great resource for starting your research. Academic Search Premier (ASP)
Useful Databases for this Course
America: History and Life
The core database for U.S. and Canadian history and culture, America, History and Life provides access to scholarly literature from prehistoric times to the present.
Art Full Text (1984 - present)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes and abstracts over 600 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Databases for Regional Research
Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP) (1860-1922)
The Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP) is an initiative to digitize historic Oregon newspaper content and make it freely available to the public through a keyword-searchable online database.
Full text access to the Oregonian, the newspaper of record for the state of Oregon. It is the largest newspaper in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest by circulation. (Coverage: 1861 - present)
Oregonian Index (1852-1987)
Provides an online index to articles in The Oregonian. The database covers 1852-1987 and contains more than 839,000 records.
Selectively indexes articles on local and regional topics from the following Oregon newspapers: The Oregonian, Salem Statesman Journal, Eugene Register Guard, Coos Bay World, Corvallis Gazette Times, Klamath Falls Herald & News, The LaGrande Observer, and Willamette Week.
Provides access to Salem's newspaper, covering local news and events, Oregon state government. Full text from 2002 forward.
Full-Text Scholarly Databases
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
Provides access to the complete
of more than 1,600 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 46 million pages are now available. backfiles
The Kudzu Project
We are a group of knitters who live in Charlottesville, Virginia who cover the Confederate statues with knitted kudzu.
The Make It Right Project
A group dedicated to working with multiple groups—activists, artists, historians and media outlets—to remove Confederate monuments and tell the truth about history.
Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian
Subjects: Art & Art History
Global Cultural Studies
Latin American Studies
How To Find Articles
If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.
This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.
If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through
Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.
provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar for more info). Google Scholar page