A personal Librarian is your "go-to" person in the library. First-year students are paired up with a librarian who will be your individual contact person within the library from day one. Find your Personal Librarian here.
You can set up an individual research consultation with a subject librarian for research help. Here are a few other things that we can do for you:
Library Hours
Mon-Thur 8 a.m. -- Midnight
Friday 8 a.m. -- 6 p.m.
Saturday 10 a.m. -- 6 p.m.
Sunday 10 a.m. -- Midnight
Reference Hours
Mon-Wed 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
6 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Thursday 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
Friday 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m
Saturday (Closed)
Sunday (Closed)
Archives Hours
Contact: archives@willamette.edu for an appointment.
Note: The library is open to the general public Monday-Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. and on Saturday from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Listed below are the letters and titles of the main classes of the Library of Congress (LC) Classification. Click on any class to view an outline of its subclasses in an interactive PDF format. This list is based off of the Library of Congress Classification Outline.
Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.
The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought
Dictionary of the Middle Ages
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society
Encyclo-pedia of Religion
Medieval Iberia
Routledge Encyclo-pedia of Social and Cultural Anthro-pology
Encyclo-pedia of Contem-porary Spanish CultureWikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content it is considered unreliable. College faculty typically do not consider Wikipedia a credible information source.
Instead, use the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your research paper. These resources have gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.
In the early 9th century, remains believed to be those of the apostle Saint James were discovered in Compostela, Galicia where a cathedral honoring Santiago became the destination of catholic pilgrims or religious travelers from all over Europe who followed various routes across northern Spain to Santiago de Compostela. In this colloquium we will explore the concept of pilgrimage itself, a spiritual journey involving not only individual religious experience but also complex religious, linguistic, cultural and social interchanges. We will examine in particular the interplay between change and continuity, as millions of diverse travelers wearing the traditional shell of the Jacobean pilgrim have followed the Camino de Santiago, or the Way of St. James over the past 1200 years and have impacted both the route and pilgrimage culture surrounding it. Key questions to address include: what role did the Camino play in the medieval struggle between Muslims and Christians for dominance in the Iberian Peninsula? In what ways has the route and the infrastructure it necessitated shaped patterns of growth along it? To what extent has the Camino helped inform the construction of a Spanish national/ist identity? Finally, how have foreign pilgrims on the route contributed to Spain’s multicultural society, and in turn, how have their experiences been represented in literature, film and art up to today?
