Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Find Articles
If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.
This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.
If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.
Streaming Music Databases
Classical Music Library
Includes recordings of music written from the earliest times (eg Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Jazz Music Library
The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
Contemporary World Music
Contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
What is Peer-Review?
Peer-review is an evaluation process in which qualified individuals within specialized field of study reviews literature before it becomes published. This process helps keep standards held by the profession, improves the quality of work being published, and provides credibility & reliability to published work & authors publishing the work. The 3-minute video below describes and discusses the importance of peer-review and its process.
(NCSU video, 3 min.)
Useful Databases for this Course
Music Index Online
Indexes over 725 international music periodicals offering a wealth of historiographic, ethnographic, and musicological data. Subjects covered include past and present personalities, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments
New York Times Historical (1851-2009)
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issu
Readers Guide Retrospective
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Oxford Music Online
Contains the online version of the classic New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, as well as online versions of the Oxford Dictionary of Music and the Oxford Companion to Music.
You will have access to this database though to 4th October 2015.
Full-Text Scholarly Databases
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 322 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 12 million pages are now available.
Music Review Magazines
Print: Vol.31, 1964 to date.
Microfilm: Vol.9, 1942-vol.30, 1963.
Vol.1, no.3, 1978-v.35, no.4, 2012.
Print: No.1165, Sept. 13, 2012-no.1191, Sept. 12, 2013.
Microfilm: No.333, 1980-no.939, 2004.
The Village Voice
Vol.26, 1980-v.50, 2006.Microfilm
Nov. 5-Dec. 31, 2014; Mar. 4-July 15, 2015. Newspapers
This is also available online
Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian
Subjects:Art & Art History
, Cinema Studies
, Latin American Studies
All Databases at Willamette
Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).