Research Guides: ARTH 116: Introduction to Renaissance and Early Modern Art: Articles/Databases

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

Sample Art Journal Article

Image Databases

ARTstor
Provides a broad and deep general collection of images of world art and architecture, as well as special collections including Native American, Asian, American and European art.
Academic Commons
The Willamette University Academic Commons combines the online collections of the Willamette University Archives and the Hallie Ford Museum of Art. Includes Theatre Costume images.
Searching for Art History Images Using ArtSTOR
A brief tutorial for using ArtSTOR to search for images, art history and otherwise, to use for teaching and presentations. Goes over how to save individual images and how to create and save images to groups.

Images from Timeless Renaissance Exhibition

Resurrection of Christ Kneeling female figure... Two studies for spiral...
(School of Giovanni Baglione) (Follower of Carlo Maratti) (Pietro Bonaccorsi)

Timeless Renaissance: Italian Drawings from the Alessandro Maggiori Collection
The August 13 – November 6, 2011 exhibition homepage from the Hallie Ford Museum of Art.

Traditional Research Databases for Art History

Oxford (Grove) Art Online
Contains the online version of the classic Grove Art Online, produced by Grove, as well as online versions of the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Art Full Text (1984 - present)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 400 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English. Also indexes art reproductions.
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 300 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English. Also indexes art reproductions.
Bibliography of the History of Art (1975-2007)
The most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. This database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 1300 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Doreen Simonsen

Email Me

Contact:

Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343

Subjects: Art & Art History, Chinese, Cinema Studies, Classics, English, French, German, Global Cultural Studies, History, Japanese, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian, Spanish, Theatre

Library Account Login

Use the button to find out what books and articles you have ordered via Summit, WorldCat and Interlibrary Loan.

Polling Your Research

Which resources did you use to find scholarly materials about your drawing from the Timeless Renaissance collection?

Polling Your Research

Grove Art Online: 3 votes (23.08%)

Library Catalogs: 0 votes (0%)

Exhibition Website: 2 votes (15.38%)

Bibliography of the History of Art: 1 votes (7.69%)

Art Full-Text: 2 votes (15.38%)

Art Index Retrospective: 0 votes (0%)

JSTOR: 1 votes (7.69%)

Google Scholar: 4 votes (30.77%)

Total Votes: 13

ARTH 116: Introduction to Renaissance and Early Modern Art: Articles/Databases

How To Find Articles

Sample Art Journal Article

Image Databases

Images from Timeless Renaissance Exhibition

Traditional Research Databases for Art History

Google Scholar

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Library Account Login

Polling Your Research

Willamette University Libraries