Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTstor Tutorial Videos
Searching for Art History Images Using ArtSTOR
A brief tutorial for using ArtSTOR to search for images, art history and otherwise, to use for teaching and presentations. Goes over how to save individual images and how to create and save images to groups.
How To Find Articles
- Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
- If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
- If we don't
have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.
All Databases at Willamette
Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.
Provides a broad and deep general collection of images of world art and architecture, as well as special collections including Native American, Asian, American and European art.
Hallie Ford Museum of Art
The Hallie Ford Museum of Art Collections currently include works of Pacific Northwest artists and images of the Museum.
The Willamette University Academic Commons combines the online collections of the Willamette University Archives and the Hallie Ford Museum of Art. Includes Theatre Costume images.
Useful Subject Databases for this Course
Art Full Text (1984 - present)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 400 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English. Also indexes art reproductions.
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 300 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English. Also indexes art reproductions.
Oxford Art Online
Contains the online version of the classic Dictionary of Art, produced by Grove, as well as online versions of the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical material on the modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to over 3,000 journals, as well as to book chapters, proceedings, and working papers. (Good for identifying literary works related to Classical mythology).
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. (Good for identifying literary works related to Classical mythology. Includes some primary texts).
Full-Text Scholarly Databases
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 322 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 12 million pages are now available.
Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian
Subjects:Art & Art History
, Asian Studies
, Cinema Studies
, German & Russian
, Languages & Linguistics
, Latin American Studies
, Religious Studies
National Gallery of Art Subject Index
The National Gallery of Art was created in 1937 for the people of the United States of America by a joint resolution of Congress, accepting the gift of financier and art collector Andrew W. Mellon. You can search the National Gallery's collection by the artist's last name, key words in the title, school, style, date, medium, and/or short list of popular subjects.
Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History Subject Index
The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history.