Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Find Articles
If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.
This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.
If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.
What is Peer-Review?
Peer-review is an evaluation process in which qualified individuals within specialized field of study reviews literature before it becomes published. This process helps keep standards held by the profession, improves the quality of work being published, and provides credibility & reliability to published work & authors publishing the work. The 5-minute video below describes and discusses the importance of peer-review and its process.
(NCSU video, 5 min.)
Full-Text Scholarly Databases
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 322 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 12 million pages are now available.
Provides a broad and deep general collection of images of world art and architecture, as well as special collections including Native American, Asian, American and European art. To use from off-campus, you must register for an account from on-campus first.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 8,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 12,500 journals. Over 7,300 of the full text journals are peer reviewed. 1965 - present
Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford English Dictionary
The online version of the classic dictionary. An unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cook books.
Useful Databases for this Course
Gender Studies Database
A multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, gray literature, and the alternative press, with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.
Communications and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
CMMC provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC indexes and abstracts more than 730 journals, and includes full text for over 420 journals.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical material on the modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to over 3,000 journals, as well as to book chapters, proceedings, and working papers.
Art Full Text (1984 - present)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 400 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
Contains a diverse range of specialist content: the International Index to Film Periodicals contains over 500,000 article citations from more than 345 periodicals.
Johns Hopkins Literary Theory & Criticism
Offers succinct, focused articles that provide an overview of literary theory from a twentieth-century Western perspective.
Digital Theatre Plus
Provides streamed videos in: recent British theatrical productions (Shakespeare, classics, new writing, musicals, dance, and opera); making theater (creative, productive, and technical teams; the acting company; theater management; and filmed interviews with practitioners); study guides; teaching support; and collections (performances from the Gran Teatre de Liceu; Royal Opera House, Shakespeare's Globe, Broadway Digital Archive, and National Jewish Theater).
Academic Video Online
Provides videos with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Includes more than 70,000 video titles spanning a range of subject areas such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).
All Databases at Willamette
Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.