Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Peer-Review?
Peer-review is an evaluation process in which qualified individuals within specialized field of study reviews literature before it becomes published. This process helps keep standards held by the profession, improves the quality of work being published, and provides credibility & reliability to published work & authors publishing the work. The 3-minute video below describes and discusses the importance of peer-review and its process.
(NCSU video, 3 min.)
How To Find Articles
- Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
- If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
- If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a full-text interdisciplinary database that can filter to peer-reviewed and full-text literature. This is great resource for starting your research.
Full-Text Scholarly Databases
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 1,600 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 46 million pages are now available.
Useful Databases for this Course
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Provides indexing to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. Searchable by keyword (any field), author, title, journal, and subject, it may also be browsed by subject, journal or country.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical material on the modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to over 3,000 journals, as well as to book chapters, proceedings, and working papers.
Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present.
Hallie Ford Museum of Art Collections
Hallie Ford Museum of Art Asian Collection has approximately 250 works of Asian art. Included in that collection are Chinese export ware porcelains, Japanese netsuke, Chinese snuff bottles, Japanese paintings and prints, textiles and wood carvings from the Swat Valley along the border of Pakistan and Afghanistan, Chinese and Japanese hanging scroll paintings, Chinese and Korean ceramics and bronzes, and Japanese woodblock prints.
Search Museum Collections
Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian
Subjects: Art & Art History
, Cinema Studies
, Latin American Studies
ARTstor provides a broad and deep general collection of images of world art and architecture, as well as special collections including Native American, Asian, American and European art.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).