Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Find Articles
- Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
- If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
- If we don't
have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.
Primary Sociology Database
Often referred to as Soc Abs, Sociological Abstracts is the best place to go when looking for journal articles dealing with sociology topics. Provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences. Includes citations to book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc.
Other Useful Databases
Periodicals/journals are important sources for current news and information about recent research. Databases are often the best way to locate these articles.
Provides a complete full-text archive of the American Anthropology Association's journals, newsletters and bulletins.
Business Source Premier
Provides full text from nearly 3,300 journals covering business, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting and much more.
Communications and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
CMMC provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Contemporary Women's Issues
A multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, gray literature, and the alternative press, with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides full text from nearly 270 periodicals covering nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, drugs and alcohol, and much more. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 430 periodicals. This database also provides full text for over 1,090 pamphlets and 23 books.
Provides full text for over 1,830 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. Good source for accessing articles from magazines such as Good Housekeeping, Redbook, etc.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical material on the modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore.
Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.
Offers access to topics with an international focus, including public policy, public administration, government relations, governmental effectiveness, nonprofit organizations, political structures and international relations. Provides selective coverage of magazine and journal articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, and more.
Abstracts and indexes the professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers more than 1,300 journals in more than 30 languages. Also includes references to book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports.
Academic Search Premier: Quick Search for Articles
Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a full-text interdisciplinary database that can filter to peer-reviewed and full-text literature. This is great resource for starting your research.
All Databases at Willamette
Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.