Research Guides: ASIA 499: Senior Seminar in Asian Studies: Reference Materials

WU Senior Theses

Community Collections
Community Collections are maintained by academic and administrative departments. They may include published articles, preprints, undergraduate theses, conference proceedings, white papers, data sets, images, and other products of Willamette University faculty, staff, and students. Access to some collections is restricted to members of the Willamette University community.

Chinese Resources

China: Global Studies by Zhiqun Zhu
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference DS701 .G57 2010

ISBN: 0078026199

Publication Date: 2011-04-12
Encyclopedia of China by Dorothy Perkins
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference DS705 .P47 1999

ISBN: 0816026939

Publication Date: 1998-01-01
China by Michael Dillon (Editor)
ISBN: 0700704388

Publication Date: 1998-02-25
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China by Mary Bagg (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference DS735.A2 B47 2009

ISBN: 9780977015948

Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Historical Dictionary of Revolutionary China, 1839-1976 by Edwin Pak-Wah Leung
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference DS740.2 .H57

ISBN: 0313264570

Publication Date: 1992-03-30

Asian Arts

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by Valerie Steele
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference GT507 .E53 2005

ISBN: 0684313944

Publication Date: 2004-09-22
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Ruth M. Stone (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference ML100 .G16 1997 volume 7

ISBN: 0824060350

Publication Date: 1997-08-01
The Anime Encyclopedia
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference NC1766.J3 C53 2001

ISBN: 1880656647

Publication Date: 2001
The Chinese Filmography by Donald J. Marion
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN1993.5.C4 M37 1997

ISBN: 0786403055

Publication Date: 1997-08-01
Encyclopedia of Chinese Film by Yingjin Zhang (Editor); Zhiwei Xiao
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN1993.5.C4 Z53 1998

ISBN: 0415151686

Publication Date: 1999
Encyclopedia of Asian Theatre by Samuel L. Leiter
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN 2860 .E53 2007

ISBN: 031333529X

Publication Date: 2006-12-01

Japanese Resources

Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
Call Number: Hatfield Library 2d Floor Stacks DS805 .K633

ISBN: 4069310983
Global Studies: Japan and the Pacific Rim
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference DS801 .G56

ISBN: 0078026245

Publication Date: 2012
Modern Japan: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Nationalism
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference DS805 .M63 1998

ISBN: 0815325258

Publication Date: 1997
The Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference DS822.5 .E516 2009

ISBN: 041548152X

Publication Date: 2009
Dictionary of the Modern Politics of Japan
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference JQ1605 .S86 2003

ISBN: 0415151708

Publication Date: 2003

Specialized Reference Books

Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.

Encyclopedia of the Stateless Nations by James Minahan
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference D860 .M56 2002

ISBN: 0313316171

Publication Date: 2002-05-30
Historical Dictionary of the Republic of Korea by Andrew C. Nahm
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference DS909 .N34

ISBN: 0810826038

Publication Date: 1993-06-28
Multicultural America by Ronald H. Bayor (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference E184.A1 M815 2011

ISBN: 9780313357862

Publication Date: 2011-07-01
Encyclopedia of Japanese American History by Japanese-American National Museum Staff; Brian Niiya (Editor); Daniel K. Inouye (Foreword by)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference E184.J3 E53 2001

ISBN: 0816040931

Publication Date: 2000-11-01
World Directory of Minorities by Minority Rights Group Staff (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference GN495.4 .W67 1997

ISBN: 1873194366

Publication Date: 1997-07-01
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture by Solomon H. Katz (Editor); William Woys Weaver (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference GT2850 .E53 2003

ISBN: 0684805685

Publication Date: 2002-12-17
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by N. J. Smelser (Editor-In-Chief); P. B. Baltes (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference H41 .I58 2001

ISBN: 0080430767

Publication Date: 2001-11-22
Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference HD4482 .E53 2012

ISBN: 9781412988193

Publication Date: 2012
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide by Lynn Walter (Editor); Amy Lind (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference HQ1115 .G74 2003

ISBN: 0313321299

Publication Date: 2003-11-01
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society by Paula S. Fass (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference HQ767.84 .E53 2003

ISBN: 0028657144
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference HQ9 .E52 2003

ISBN: 0028656725

Publication Date: 2003
The Statesman's Yearbook
Call Number: Summit Only

ISBN: 0230206034
The Europa World Year Book
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference JN 1 .E85

ISBN: 1857435893
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by S. George Philander (Editor); Golson Books, Ltd. Staff
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference QC981.8.G56 E47 2012

ISBN: 1412992613

Publication Date: 2012-06-29
The Encyclopedia of Women's Health by Christine Ammer; Joann E. Manson (Foreword by)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference RA778 .A494 2009

ISBN: 9780816074075

Publication Date: 2009-02-01
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Robert E. Buswell (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference BQ128 .E62 2004

ISBN: 0028657187

Publication Date: 2005-06-01
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media by Mary Kosut (Editor)
Call Number: HAT Reference P96.S5 E53 2012

ISBN: 1412990793

Publication Date: 2012-05-18
Encyclopedia of Global Health by Yawei Zhang (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference RA441 .E53 2008

ISBN: 1412941865

Publication Date: 2008-01-09

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Doreen Simonsen

Email Me

Contact:

Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343

Subjects: Art & Art History, Chinese, Cinema Studies, Classics, English, French, German, Global Cultural Studies, History, Japanese, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian, Spanish, Theatre

Encyclopedias and More

Grove Art Online
The Dictionary of Art is the only comprehensive art reference work in the world. The online version is GROVE ART.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Rhetoric and Language Resources

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric by Thomas O. Sloane (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN172 .E52 2001

ISBN: 0195125959

Publication Date: 2001-08-02

9924298840001454
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition by Theresa Enos (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN172 .E53 1996

ISBN: 0824072006

Publication Date: 1996-01-01

9922570750001454
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by William J. Frawley (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference P29 .I58 2003

ISBN: 0195139771

Publication Date: 2003-05-01
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory by Elizabeth Kowaleski-Wallace (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN98.W64 E53 1997

ISBN: 0815308248

Publication Date: 1996-11-01

ASIA 499: Senior Seminar in Asian Studies: Reference Materials