Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Find Articles
- Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
- If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
- If we don't
have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).
Potentially Useful Databases for Ethnic Studies/Your Topics
Periodicals/journals are important sources for current news and information about recent research. Databases are often the best way to locate these articles.
Academic Search Premier (1965 to date)
Offers mostly full text articles from thousands of social sciences, humanities, science and arts journals.
America History and Life (1964 to date)
Provides access to scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.
Brings together into one resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University & Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Offers indexing of core periodicals, as well as lesser-known journals, from the late 19th century to today.
ATLA Religion Database (1949 to date)
Contains citations from journal articles, essays within multi-author works, book reviews, and doctoral dissertations focusing on religion and theology, from around the world.
Communications and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) (dates vary)
CMMC provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC indexes and abstracts more than 730 journals, and includes full text for over 420 journals.
Education Full Text (1983 to date)
Indexes over 400 English-language periodicals and yearbooks covering the field of education, from preschool through college, including special education. Also indexes book reviews.
Ethnic NewsWatch (1984 to date)
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
HAPI Online (1970 to date)
Contains international information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Topics covered include politics, economics, social issues, and Latin American arts and letters.
HLAS Online (1935 to date)
Provides access to books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference proceedings on all aspects of Latin American studies, including anthropology, art, economics, government and politics, international relations, literature, music, philosophy, and sociology.
Lexis-Nexis Academic (dates vary)
Provides access to full-text information from newspapers, journals, magazines and reference sources with strengths in the areas of current news, business, law, and politics. Also contains polling information.
PAIS International (1972 to date)
Offers access to topics with an international focus, including public policy, public administration, government relations, governmental effectiveness, nonprofit organizations, political structures and international relations. Provides selective coverage of magazine and journal articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, and more.
PsycInfo (1887 to date)
Abstracts and indexes the professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers more than 1,300 journals in more than 30 languages. Also includes references to book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports.
Social Sciences Citation Index (1989 to date)
Provides citation tracing for 1,700 social sciences journals, as well as selected coverage of over 3,300 scientific and technical journals. Also searchable by author, title, journal, and keyword. Includes abstracts for over 60% of the citations. Please logoff when finished.
Sociological Abstracts (1952 to date)
Sociological Abstracts is the best place to go when looking for journal articles dealing with sociology topics. Provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences. Includes citations to book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc.
All Databases at Willamette
Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.
Databases covering Government Information
HeinOnline's U.S. Congressional Documents Collection
The U.S. Congressional Documents Collection features the bound and daily versions of Congressional Record, its three predecessor titles, and other important congressional material.
LexisNexis State Capital
Provides access to current state government information, including legislation, statutes, regulations, policy brief and news, and directories. Search options include the ability to search for information about one state, any combination of states, or all 50 states.