This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

Borrowing Policies: General

COVID-19 Update on Library Services

 

For current students, faculty and staff, we hope the following guidelines and services will enhance access to the MOHL’s resources, including physical collections, while the library is closed.

Prioritization of requests

1) Items to be put on reserve for an entire class (creating a scanned copy)

2) Items for Seniors completing a thesis

3) Items for Faculty

Digital Collections

Digital books and periodicals remain accessible from campus and remotely. If you have difficulties please contact us at library@willamette.edu for assistance.

Interlibrary Loan & Summit

1) Requesting and borrowing of articles (digitally) continues via ILL button in the library catalog. Fulfillment may be delayed.

2) Requesting of physical items from Summit and ILL has been discontinued indefinitely. Summit has shut down until further notice and the vast majority of institutions have discontinued physical ILL lending as well.

Items in the Mark O. Hatfield Physical Collection

1) Digital Course Reserves– Faculty, please contact library@willamette.edu or your liaison librarian to discuss getting items digitized for posting in WISE.

2) Articles from the bound print periodicals – Please use the “scan on demand” button in the library catalog (see example). We will email you the scanned article as soon as we can.

3) Book chapters – please send the full citation including chapter(s) needed to library@willamette.edu. We will scan the chapters and return them to you as quickly as possible via email. There is no turnaround guarantee.

4) Full Books (Seniors completing a thesis or faculty) – please send the full citation to library@willamette.edu.

a. Living within 60 miles of Campus: Indicate “On-Campus Pickup” in your email subject heading, and we will pull the book, check it out to you, and send you a numerical pickup code associated with the book via email. (For privacy reasons we won’t label books with your name). It will be placed on a book cart in the library vestibule for you to pick up. You will have 2-days to pick it up once you receive the email. Once we check it out to you, you are considered responsible for the book. You will need a valid ID to access the vestibule.

b. Living more than 60 miles from campus: Indicate “Deliver via Mail” in your email subject heading. We will check it out to you and send you an email indicating the item(s) we have sent. Once we check it out to you we will consider you responsible for the book, including returning it to the library. Be sure to include your mailing address in your email.

Note: For items you have checked out right now, you can return Summit or Willamette items to the book drop in front of the library or hold on to them until we re-open. The library will not be charging any overdue fines. You still will be responsible for any fees related to lost items.

 

Please direct any questions to library@willamette.edu.

General Info

All borrowing of library materials takes place at the Circulation Desk, located on the first floor of the Hatfield Library. Here you checkout, renew, and recall materials, pay fines, access or place materials on Reserve, pick up items received via Summit and Interlibrary Loan, or receive assistance with photocopying, audiovisual materials and microforms.

One special aspect of borrowing involves Summit, a shared, multi-state academic library catalog. It combines the holdings of over 35 Pacific Northwest institutions into a single, unified database providing access to over 25 million items. Summit is an excellent tool for resource sharing and greatly expands the availability of materials for the Willamette Community.

Patrons can request books through Summit's automated borrowing program, or borrow books in person from other Summit libraries. This service provides the Willamette Community access to an extensive, research level collection and will have an impact on collection development decisions in the future.

Residents of the Salem-Keizer area who are 18 years of age or older may apply for a Community Borrower's card, which will give them partial borrowing privileges.

Most materials housed in Hatfield library are available for checkout at the Circulation Desk. Other materials, such as periodicals, reference materials, and special collections may not be checked out.

If you have any questions about the status of an item, please ask at the Circulation desk.

View Your Library Account

All library patrons who borrow materials through the Hatfield library have a Library Account. Your library account allows you to:

To access digitally delivered Interlibrary Loan documents (e.g. aticles & book chapters) use your Interlibrary Loan Account

Access Services Librarian

Charity Braceros-Simon's picture
Charity Braceros-Simon
Contact:
Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-370-6673