Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Philosophical Association
The American Philosophical Association was founded in 1900 to promote the exchange of ideas among philosophers, to encourage creative and scholarly activity in philosophy, to facilitate the professional work and teaching of philosophers, and to represent philosophy as a discipline.
E-texts of Philosophical Works
Early Modern Texts
"Here are versions of some classics of early modern philosophy, prepared with a view to making them easier to read while leaving intact the main arguments, doctrines, and lines of thought." This site includes texts by: Berkeley, Descartes, Edwards, Hobbes, Hume, Kant, Leibniz, Locke, Mill, Spinoza, and others. Maintained by Jonathan F. Bennett.
Confessions of Augustine: An Electronic Edition
This site offers the text of the Confessions in Latin, with extensive critical commentary by Prof. James O'Donnell. For advanced students.
D. Anthony Storm's Commentary on Kierkegaard
"This site contains an online Commentary on the writings of the nineteenth century existentialist philosopher Søren Aabye Kierkegaard. Information on every published work and article (including many unfinished writings and journal entries) is presented here with publication data, quotes, detailed commentary, and images.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries of Philosophy
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP)
The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia’s articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)
The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.
General Philosophy Sites
This site offers helpful information for students of the Western philosophical tradition.
Erratic Impact's Philosophy Research Base
Erratic Impact's Philosophy Research Base is categorized by history, subject and author. Integrating text resources with the best online resources, this study guide attempts to aid both academic and general interest in all philosophical genres and their related fields.
Voice of the Shuttle: Philosophy Page
Resources for philosophical fields, movements, notable lovers of questions, and their works. Created at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
Philosophy Talk is a weekly radio program from National Public Radio that celebrates the value of the examined life. Each week, our two host philosophers invite you to join them in conversation on a wide variety of issues ranging from popular culture to our most deeply-held beliefs about science, morality, and the human condition.
Philosophy Links and Resources
An exhaustive list of links to Philosophy journals, bibliographies, weblogs, papers, and much more, all compiled by Achille C. Varzi, Professor of Philosophy at Columbia University, New York City.
The London Philosophy Study Guide
"This guide is intended for use by all students of the London Philosophy degrees, BA, MA and its research degrees. It contains an entry for each of the papers currently available within the B.A." The papers are arranged into broad areas of Philosophy, such as Logic & Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind, etc.
Philosophy Research Sites
PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers. The site monitors journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages.
Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian
Subjects: Art & Art History
, Cinema Studies
, Latin American Studies