Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Actors Equity Association
The webpage for the professional Stage Actors Union includes FAQ, constitution/bylaws, and other info germane to the working actor.
The Actorsource Homepage
Provides practical advice for the novice actor and includes valuable lists of agencies, casting directors, selected conservatories, colleges and universities with programs in actor training.
The Voice and Speech Source
A superb web "classroom" for voice training that includes a glossary, lessons on voice, sound, phonetics and speech, and a index with links to pages focused on voice, speech, accents and dialects
Costume History Portal
A portal with links to webpages with brief and sometimes illustrated histories of costume around the word, beginning with ancient Egypt.
Elizabethan Costuming Page
A detailed historical and visual guide on Elizabethan dress that includes sewing and catalog information.
Milieux: The Costume Site
"Online costuming sources for historical, science fiction and fantasy costumers."
The Costume Page
A comprehensive collection of resources on historical, ethnic, and theatrical costume.
The Costumer's Manifesto
An enormous list of links to images, collections, and information about costumes through the ages. The manifesto itself is worthwhile reading for everyone involved in theater production, not just designers.
The History of Costume by Braun & Schneider
A web version of the 19th century book on the history of costume with plenty of full-color illustrations.
The History of Greek Costume
A site devoted excusively to the portrayal of Greek costumes through the centuries.
The Internet Classics Archive: 441 searchable works of classical literature
Database includes English translations of ancient Greek plays; a search engine allows users to construct powerful queries to search the texts by word, phrase, work and author.
The Complete Works of Shakespeare Online. Site includes chronological and alphabetical listing of plays, a glossary and a web-version of Bartlett's Familiar Shakespearean Quotations.
Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
An index to Shakespeare internet resources with links to the Bard's works, life and times, and criticism.
Restoration Drama Homepage
A webpage devoted to Restoration dramatists (Congreve, Shadwell, and Wycherley), history and politics.
Kabuki for Everyone
Explores the art of Kabuki -- a traditional form of Japanese theatre -- with video illustrations and pages discussing Kabuki music, make-up, and history.
Lighting and Electronics, Inc.
A business page that contains useful technical information on lighting such as lighting math formulas, operation and safety guides, and layout and approval sheets.
Theatrical Lighting Database - NYPL
"This collection contains actual plots, focus charts, cue sheets and much more from four landmark productions digitized from the collections of the New York Public Library."
Internet Broadway Database (IBDB)
IBDB provides information on Broadway productions, both historical and current. You can search for titles, genres, people, theaters, characters, awards and more. It covers all genres but obviously is of special interest for musical theater. The historical information is slowly reaching farther back.
A central location for information about a large number of musicals including selected images and lyrics, songlists and synopses.
Musicals101: The Cyber Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre, TV and Film
"Musicals101 promotes awareness of and participation in musical theater, film and television, creating information resources designed to assist students, show business professionals and fans of the genre."
Dramatists Play Service, Inc.
Site offers directories and listings for identifying and purchasing specific plays, as well as providing an online licensing application. Search by keyword, cast size, gender, and length. Each entry includes a plot synopsis, casting information, price, and licensing fee.
Samuel French, Inc.
Page includes a database for plays searchable by title and author, order forms and information on royalties, rights and restrictions.
Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian
Subjects:Art & Art History
, Asian Studies
, Cinema Studies
, German & Russian
, Languages & Linguistics
, Latin American Studies
, Religious Studies