Research Guides: IDS 101: Portraits and Portrait Stories: Articles/Databases

How to Find Articles.

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.

If an article isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.

If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

All Databases at Willamette

Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

Full-Text Scholarly Databases

Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 1,600 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 46 million pages are now available.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

Searching Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a full-text interdisciplinary database that can filter to peer-reviewed and full-text literature. This is great resource for starting your research. Here is a sample search:

Useful Databases for Art & Literature Research

Art Full Text (1984 - present)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes and abstracts over 600 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Provides coverage of fine, decorative and commercial art. Indexes over 600 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, including peer reviewed journals. Includes over 25,000 book reviews.
Grove Art Online
A comprehensive online resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the present. Includes the major 34-volume Art History encyclopedia, Grove's Dictionary of Art.
LitFinder
Provides access to a broad span of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history. Including more than 150,000 full-text poems and over 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.

Useful Databases for Local History Research

America: History and Life
Provides access to scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. (Indexes the Oregon Historical Quarterly and other regional journals)
Oregonian (1861 - present)
Full text access to the Oregonian, the newspaper of record for the state of Oregon. It is the largest newspaper in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest by circulation.
Statesman Journal
Provides access to Salem's newspaper, covering local news and events, Oregon state government. Full text from 2002 forward.
Oregon State Library Catalog
A great place to look for information about the Capitol and Salem topics.
New York Times Historical (1851-2010)
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
New York Times (1980 - present)
Provides searchable full text.

Finding Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles in the Library Catalog

What is Peer-Review?

Peer-review is an evaluation process in which qualified individuals within specialized field of study reviews literature before it becomes published. This process helps keep standards held by the profession, improves the quality of work being published, and provides credibility & reliability to published work & authors publishing the work. The 3-minute video below describes and discusses the importance of peer-review and its process.

(NCSU video, 3 min.)

Oregon History Websites

Oregon Encyclopedia
A comprehensive and authoritative compendium of information about Oregon's history and culture, created through a partnership between Portland State University, the Oregon Council of Teachers of English, and the Oregon Historical Society.
Oregon State Library Photo Website
The Oregon State Library's photograph collection contains several thousand glass plate negatives and prints collected from the Trover Photo Studios, from individual donors, and from the Work Projects Administration
Salem Online History
Salem History Project which was funded by a two year grant (2003-2005), and has not been updated since that time. Includes the Oregon Historic Photo Collection, which contains thousands of historic Oregon photographs dating from the mid 1800's, with a special focus on the City of Salem and Western Oregon communities.

IDS 101: Portraits and Portrait Stories: Articles/Databases