Research Guides: REL 323: The Bible and American Culture: Articles/Databases

How To Find Articles

If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.

This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.

If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

Useful Databases and Websites for this Course

Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for more than 4,450 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.
America History and Life
Provides access to scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.
ATLA Religion Database
Contains citations from journal articles, essays within multi-author works, book reviews, and doctoral dissertations focusing on religion and theology, from around the world.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Gender Studies Database
This database combines the Womens Studies International and the Mens Studies databases to provide coverage of gender related scholarship.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete back files of more than 322 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s.
Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
ProQuest Political Science
Provides articles on international relations and political science.
ProQuest Religion
Provides articles on international religion and spirituality.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Sociological Abstracts
Provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences.