Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Account Login
Use the button to find out what books and articles you have ordered via Summit, WorldCat and Interlibrary Loan.
How To Find Articles
If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.
This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.
If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).
Archives & Deep Web Resources
Pacific Northwest Artists Archive
A collaborative project of the Willamette University Archives and the Hallie Ford Museum of Art, the Pacific Northwest Artists Archive is a collection of materials related to the careers of artists who are or were active in Oregon and Washington. Developed as a complement to the permanent collection of the Hallie Ford Museum and housed at Willamette University’s Hatfield Library, the Archive contains artists’ correspondence, exhibition catalogues and brochures, press clippings, photographs, slides of artworks, and other materials related to the life work of particular artists.
Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies. Subject strengths include: History, Humanities, Art & Architecture, Social Sciences, and Genealogy.
Traditional Research Databases for Art History
Art Full Text (1984 - present)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 400 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English. Also indexes art reproductions.
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 300 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English. Also indexes art reproductions.
Bibliography of the History of Art (1973-2009)
The most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. This database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers.
Grove Art Online
Contains the online version of the classic Dictionary of Art, produced by Grove, as well as online versions of the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Provides indexing to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. Searchable by keyword (any field), author, title, journal, and subject, it may also be browsed by subject, journal or country.
General & Full-Text Scholarly Databases
Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for more than 4,450 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 7,900 journals. Over 3,500 of the full text journals are peer reviewed. All articles are in English.
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 322 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 12 million pages are now available.
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
Databases for Contemporary Art Research
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Gender Studies Database
This database combines the Womens Studies International and the Mens Studies databases to provide coverage of gender related scholarship. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
MLA International Bibliography (1926 - present)
Indexes critical material on the modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to over 3,000 journals, as well as to book chapters, proceedings, and working papers.
New York Times (1980 - present)
An American daily newspaper founded, and continuously published in New York City, since 1851. The New York Times has won 104 Pulitzer Prizes, the most of any news organization.
Newspaper Source (1984 - present)
Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.
International Foundation for Art Research
This database explores the legal and ethical issues concerning the acquisition and ownership of art; WWII /Holocaust-era art looting and restitution; and cultural property/antiquities issues. Two sets of resources International Cultural Property Ownership and Export Legislation (ICPOEL) and Case Law and Statutes (CLS) will help users navigate the increasingly complex and abundant body of legislation and case law regarding the acquisition and ownership of artworks.
Provides a broad and deep general collection of images of world art and architecture, as well as special collections including Native American, Asian, American and European art.
Hallie Ford Museum of Art
The Hallie Ford Museum of Art Collections currently include works of Pacific Northwest artists and images of the Museum.
WU Art & Costume Images
The Art Images Collection includes images of archeological sites, buildings, sculpture, paintings, and other art works from prehistory through the 21st century.
Databases for Historical Research
American Periodical Series Online
Provides indexing and full text to over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900. Included are special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children and women magazines, and other historically-significant periodicals.
Historical New York Times
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Readers Guide Retrospective (1890 - 1982)
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
America History and Life
Provides access to scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.
Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, and dissertations.
Salem & Willamette Sources
1875 - May 2017. Explore history by searching the pages of Willamette's longest running paper.
Oregon Historic Photograph Collections
The history of Oregon preserved in six collections of photographs of people, places, and events that provide snapshots of the states history from 1840 to more recent times. The collections are statewide but with special emphasis on Salem and other Willamette Valley communities.
Salem Online History
Website with photographs and articles related to the History of Salem. (Cronise)