Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Find Articles
If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.
This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.
If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).
Useful Databases for this Course
The online version of Annee Philologique, which provides an analytical and critical bibliography of the study of Greek and Roman antiquity. The database contains over 375,000 bibliographic records for the years 1969 to 2001, with 12,500 new records to be added each year.
Brings together into one resource the highly respected resources Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Offers worldwide indexing of all core periodicals, in addition to lesser-known journals, from the late 19th century to today.
Arts & Humanities Index (1989-present)
Provides citation tracing for over 1,100 international arts and humanities journals, as well as selective coverage of approximately 6,800 social sciences and science journals. Also searchable by author, title, journal, and keyword. Please logoff when finished.
ATLA Religion Database
Contains citations from journal articles, essays within multi-author works, book reviews, and doctoral dissertations focusing on religion and theology, from around the world.
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 1,600 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 46 million pages are now available.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical material on the modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to over 3,000 journals, as well as to book chapters, proceedings, and working papers.
This database includes the world's largest collection of full text electronic editions in philosophy. Of these collections, Willamette University has access to: Augustine: Works (3rd Release), Wittgenstein: Collected Works, and Wittgenstein: Letters and Lectures.
Provides indexing and author-written abstracts to the international literature of philosophy. Over 570 journals from 43 countries are covered, comprising 80% of the database, with the remaining 20% covering books and anthologies.
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Scopus is a major citation database for over 20,000 peer-reviewed journals. It also covers conference proceedings, select book series and trade journals, plus U.S./international patents. It features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize the world's research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities.
TLG (Thesaurus Linguae Graecae)
A full text database containing virtually all Greek texts surviving from the 8th century B.C. up to A.D. 600, as well as many of the surviving works up to the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453. Note: as a Willamette user or a visitor you must first create a TLG user account to use this database.
coverage: 8th century B.C. - 1453
Library Account Login
Use the button to find out what books and articles you have ordered via Summit, WorldCat and Interlibrary Loan.
Google Scholar Search Results