Research Guides: ANTH 499: Senior Research Methods Seminar (Anthropology): Articles/Databases

How To Get Articles

If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.

This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.

If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.

Newspaper Databases

The following databases provide access to articles from a variety of newspapers including international newspapers:

Access World News
Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts. Covers local, regional, and world issues, politics, government policies, sports, industries, cultural activities, schools, and the people and events in the community.
Newspaper Source
Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.
New York Times (1980 - present)
Provides searchable full text to the newspaper that is often referred to as the national "newspaper of record" for the United States.

Databases Focused on Contemporary Issues

CQ Researcher
Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Opposing ViewPoints Resource Center
A one-stop source for information on current social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.

Potentially Useful Databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Provides resources in support of research and learning in environmental science and related fields.
America History & Life
The core database for U.S. and Canadian history and culture, America, History and Life provides access to scholarly literature from prehistoric times to the present. Indexes and abstracts over 1700 journals as well as book and media reviews and dissertations.
Art Full Text
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes and abstracts over 600 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Full text is provided to more than 300 periodicals.
Business Source Premier
Provides full text from nearly 3,300 journals covering business, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting and much more. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,100 journals.
Career & Technical Education
Provides vocational information and career search resources.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Diversity Studies
Explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Education Database
Provides abstracts and indexing of over 1000 education journals.
ERIC
Covers journal and research literature in the field of education including curricular materials and more.
Ethnic NewsWatch Complete
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Gender Studies Database
This database combines the Womens Studies International and the Mens Studies databases to provide coverage of gender related scholarship.
Healthcare Administration Database
Provides journal articles and dissertations on health management.
Health Source
Provides full text from nearly 270 periodicals covering nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, drugs and alcohol, and much more.
HeinOnline
Provides the entry way to a database of over 1,200 law review journals, as well as legal histories, Congressional documents, documents relating to U.S. Presidents, and other legal resources.
Legal Collection
Contains full text for more than 260 of the worlds most respected, scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
PAIS Index
Offers access to topics with an international focus, including public policy, public administration, government relations, governmental effectiveness, nonprofit organizations, political structures and international relations.
Political Science Database
Provides articles on international relations and political science.
Proquest Central
Provides multidisciplinary journal articles, trade journals and consumer publications.
Coverage: 1971 - present
PsycINFO
Abstracts and indexes the professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers more than 1,300 journals in more than 30 languages.
Public Health Database
Provides journals articles, magazines, news, reports and dissertations on public health issues.
Social Science Database
Offers extensive coverage across a full span of social sciences disciplines to facilitate multidisciplinary research.
Sociological Abstracts
Soc. Abs. provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences.
Vocational and Career Collection
This database helps users learn about possible vocations and careers; provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.

Just Starting Your Research?

Start with this database when looking for articles in this subject area.

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 8,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 12,500 journals.

Primary Anthropology Databases

Anthropology Plus
Brings together into one resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University & Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Offers indexing of core periodicals, as well as lesser-known journals, from the late 19th century to today. Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological & linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and more.
AnthroSource
Provides 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public. Includes a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals, access to archival content housed at JSTOR, and current issues for 15 of the most critical AAA peer-reviewed publications.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

Streaming Video Database

Academic Video Online (library subscription)
Academic Video Online (AVON), a streaming media service, has more than 70,000 video titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

ANTH 499: Senior Research Methods Seminar (Anthropology): Articles/Databases