Research Guides: WGS 499: Senior Thesis: Reference Materials

Reference Books--Subject Specific

Listed on this page are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Call Number: Ref. E 185 .E54 2006
6 volumes
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present
Call Number: Ref. E 185 .E5453 2009
5 volumes
American Countercultures
Call Number: Ref. HM 647 .A44 2009
3 volumes
International encyclopedia of marriage and family
Call Number: Ref. HQ 9 .E52 2003
4 volumes
Sex and sexuality
Call Number: Ref. HQ 21 .S4716 2006
3 volumes
Encyclopedia of Gay Histories and Cultures
Call Number: Ref. HQ 75.13 .G37 2000
Lesbian Histories and Cultures
Call Number: Ref. HQ 75.5 .L4395 2000
Encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America
Call Number: Ref. HQ 76.3 .U5 E53 2004
3 volumes
Routledge international encyclopedia of queer culture
Call Number: Ref. HQ 76.96 .R68 2011

Reference Books--Subject Specific (continued)

Encyclopedia of American Disability History
Call Number: Ref. HV 1553 .E523 2009
3 volumes
Encyclopedia of children and childhood: in history and society
Call Number: Ref. HQ 767.84 .E53 2003
3 volumes
Encyclopedia of gender and society
Call Number: Ref. HQ 1115 .E54 2009
2 volumes
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media by Mary Kosut (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference P96.S5 E53 2012
ISBN: 9781412990790
Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society
Call Number: Ref. HT 1521 .E63 2008
3 volumes
The Encyclopedia of Women's Health
Call Number: Ref. RA 778 .A494 2009
Feminism and women's rights worldwide
Call Number: Ref. HQ 1180 .F424 2010
3 volumes
Fifty Years of Queer Cinema
Call Number: Ref. PN 1995.9 .H55 P668 2010
Men and masculinities: a social, cultural, and historical encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. HQ 1090.3 .M436 2004
2 volumes

Subject Librarian

Carol Drost

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Mark O. Hatfield Library
Willamette University
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301

503-370-6715

Subjects: Government Information

Encyclopedias and More Online

Britannica Online
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.
Oxford Reference Online
100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable web database.

WGS 499: Senior Thesis: Reference Materials

Reference Books--Subject Specific

Reference Books--Subject Specific (continued)

Subject Librarian

Encyclopedias and More Online

Willamette University Libraries