Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Psychology Reference Books
Country-Specific Reference Books
Oxford Reference Online
100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable web database.
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.
The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction
This is the first historical dictionary devoted to science fiction. It shows the development of science-fiction words and their associated concepts over time, with full citations and bibliographic information.
Oxford English Dictionary
The online version of the classic dictionary. An unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cook books.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference BH56 .E53 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Volume 1, pages 123-130, Artificial Intelligence
New Age Encyclopedia
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference BP605.N48 M34
Publication Date: 1990
Pages 311-315, Neo-Pagans and the New Age
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference HM647 .A44 2009
Publication Date: 2008
Volume 3, pages 642-645, Science Fiction
Women's Studies Encyclopedia
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference HQ1115 .W645 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Volume 3, pages 1273-1275, Science Fiction
Movies in American History
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN1993.5.U6 M685 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Volume 3, pages 1071-1075, Science Fiction Film
Ethnic American Literature
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PS153.M56 E825 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Pages 43-46, African American Science Fiction
The Encyclopedia of Fantasy
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN3435 .E53 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Pages 968-969, Twilight Zone
Librarian for Psychology
, Civic Communication & Media
, Politics, Policy, Law and Ethics
, Rhetoric & Media Studies
What Librarians Can Do for You
You can set up an individual research consultation with a subject librarian for research help. Here are a few other things that we can do for you:
- Show you the best places to begin your research.
- Locate the information you need within our library or elsewhere.
- Help you cite information correctly (e.g. APA style).
- Judge the quality & reliability of information.
- Teach you how to use information ethically (e.g. avoiding plagiarism).
- Determine whether something is peer-reviewed.
Hours during the Academic Year
Mon-Thur 9 a.m. -- 9 p.m.
Friday 9 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
Sunday 1 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Mon-Thur 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
6 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Friday 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m
Contact: firstname.lastname@example.org for an appointment.
Note: The library is closed to the general public and open to students, faculty, and staff with current Willamette ID.
More calendar info...