Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Find Articles
If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.
This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.
If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.
What is Peer-Review?
Peer-review is an evaluation process in which qualified individuals within specialized field of study reviews literature before it becomes published. This process helps keep standards held by the profession, improves the quality of work being published, and provides credibility & reliability to published work & authors publishing the work. The 3-minute video below describes and discusses the importance of peer-review and its process.
(NCSU video, 3 min.)
Streaming Music Databases
Includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
Classical Music Library
the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Contemporary World Music
Contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
Jazz Music Library
The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Just starting? This is great resource to begin your research!
Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a full-text interdisciplinary database for more than 3,600 academic journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural fields of study. It can filter to peer-reviewed and full-text literature. Much of what you find is available in full text, but not everything.
Full-Text Scholarly Databases
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 1,600 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 46 million pages are now available.
Good Databases for Finding Interviews
Art Full Text (1984 - present)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes and abstracts over 600 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Provides coverage of fine, decorative and commercial art. Indexes over 600 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, including peer reviewed journals.
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Music Index Online
Indexes over 725 international music periodicals offering a wealth of historiographic, ethnographic, and musicological data.
Useful Databases for this Course
America History and Life
The core database for U.S. and Canadian history and culture, America, History and Life provides access to scholarly literature from prehistoric times to the present.
ATLA Religion Database
ontains citations from journal articles, essays within multi-author works, book reviews, and doctoral dissertations focusing on religion and theology, from around the world.
Grove Art Online
A comprehensive online resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the present.
Grove Music Online
The online version of the classic music encyclopedia.
All Databases at Willamette
Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.
Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian
Subjects: Art & Art History
, Cinema Studies
, Latin American Studies
Provides a broad and deep general collection of images of world art and architecture, as well as special collections including Native American, Asian, American and European art.
The Hallie Ford Museum of Art Collections
The Hallie Ford Museum of Art Collections currently include images of works of Pacific Northwest artists and Museum's Greek and Roman coins.
WU Art Images Collection
The Art Images Collection includes images of archeological sites, buildings, sculpture, paintings, and other art works from prehistory through the 21st century.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).