Research Guides: RUSS 325: Russian Culture 1914-2014: Articles and Databases

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

Useful Databases and Websites for this Course

Academic Search Premier (ASP)
is a full-text interdisciplinary database that can filter to peer-reviewed and full-text literature. This is great resource for starting your research.
Access World News
Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts. Covers local, regional, and world issues, politics, government policies, sports, industries, cultural activities, schools, and the people and events in the community.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Historical Abstracts
Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, and dissertations.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete back files of more than 322 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical material on the modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to 3,000+ journals, as well as to book chapters, proceedings, etc.
Music Index
Indexes over 725 international music periodicals offering a wealth of historiographic, ethnographic, and musicological data. Subjects covered include past and present personalities, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments, plus computer produced music. Includes book reviews, and reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances. First performances and obituaries are noted.
New York Times (1980 - present)
An American daily newspaper founded, and continuously published in New York City, since 1851.
New York Times Historical (1851-2010)
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
Sociological Abstracts
Provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences.

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Doreen Simonsen

Email Me

Contact:

Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343

Subjects: Art & Art History, Chinese, Cinema Studies, Classics, English, French, German, Global Cultural Studies, History, Japanese, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian, Spanish, Theatre

Streaming Music Databases

American Song
Includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
Classical Music Library
the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Contemporary World Music
Contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
Jazz Music Library
The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.

RUSS 325: Russian Culture 1914-2014: Articles and Databases

Google Scholar

How To Find Articles

Useful Databases and Websites for this Course

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Streaming Music Databases

Willamette University Libraries