Research Guides: IDS 101: Building Just, Resilient, and Healthy Cities: Finding Primary Sources

Willamette Archives and Special Collections

The Willamette University Archives and Special Collections offers a treasure trove of information to those interested in Willamette and Salem History. Besides the physical collections, some of the materials are also available online. Some examples of special interest:

Paulus Glass Plate Negatives Collection
Comprised of over one thousand digitized glass plate negatives of historical significance to Willamette University, the city of Salem and the Willamette Valley.
Postcard Collection
One hundred and sixty-one black and white and color images document Willamette University and the city of Salem, Oregon from the early 1900s through 1990.
Wallulah
The Wallulah is Willamette University's student yearbook (1903 - 2007). The Wallulah is no longer being published.

Local Historical Collections

Oregon Historical Society
"The OHS Research Library contains one of the country’s most extensive collections of state history materials."
Salem Public Library--History Resources
Salem Public Library has some interesting online collections. Of particular note: Salem Online History which, "contains thousands of historic Oregon photographs dating from the mid 1800's, with a special focus on the City of Salem and Western Oregon communities." The site also contains historical articles about the area.
Willamette Heritage Center
The Willamette Heritage Center was founded by the merging of the Mission Mill Museum Association (est. 1964) and the Marion County Historical Society (est. 1950). "The Willamette Heritage Center has extensive collections documenting the history of the Mid-Willamette Valley." The research library and archives are open by appointment only.

IDS 101: Building Just, Resilient, and Healthy Cities

Primary Resources

Willamette Archives and Special Collections

Local Historical Collections

Willamette University Libraries