Research Guides: IDS 101: Work: Making a Life: Find Sources

Find Sources

Find Books, Movies, Articles, and More

Browse for Books

The Hatfield Library uses the U.S. Library of Congress Classification System to assign call numbers (addresses) to books & videos that are owned by the library. The primary shelving is sequenced in alphabetical order based on the lead character of each item's address. This shelving arrangement uses only 21 letters of the alphabet for the first character of each address. That leading letter indicates a specific clustering of topics which includes many sub-classes of subjects. This table was created by the U.S. Library of Congress Classification System to show you all of the constituent subjects that are clustered behind each of the 21 leading letters. Click on any class to view an outline of its subclasses in an interactive PDF format. Each of these links goes directly to the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

What is PEER REVIEW?

Peer-review is an evaluation process in which qualified individuals within specialized field of study review literature before it becomes published in academic journals. This process helps keep standards held by the profession, improves the quality of work being published, and provides credibility & reliability to published works & authors publishing in that field. This 3-minute video below describes and discusses the importance of peer-review and its process.

(NCSU video, 3:15 min.)

Academic Search Complete is an interdisciplinary databases that provides full text access to 8,500+ academic journals in the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, and multi-cultural journals. It also indexes nearly 12,500 peer-reviewed journals.

JSTOR is a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Search term highlighting, includes high-quality images. Current editions of journals are excluded due to embargos.

Search for Articles, Books, and more in JSTOR

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Be sure your Google Scholar preferences include Willamette University as your library (under library links) to access Willamette-licensed content. For more customization & info visit our Google Scholar page.

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, Christian Science Monitor, etc. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. It also contains selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Each participating source has its own years of coverage.

New York Times (1980 to the present)
We have full text access of the New York Times from 1851-present, but coverage is broken into 2 different databases, depending what years you want to search.. This particular link can connect you to news articles from 1980 to the present.just from The New York Times.
Oregonian (1861 to the present)
Full text access to the Oregonian, the newspaper of record for the city of Portland and its surrounding communities. It is the largest newspaper in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest by circulation.
Oregon Newspaper Sources
A collection of Oregon-based newspapers and journals, including the Oregonian and Eugene Register-Guard that can be searched simultaneously or individually. Each participating newspaper has its own years of coverage.
Statesman-Journal (1999 to the present)
Salem, Oregon's daily newspaper covering the State Capital and the communities across both Marion & Polk counties.

Oxford Reference Online
(Full-text)
This online resource is a collection of 100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable interface.
Encyclopedia Britannica
(Fulltext)
An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.

Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics by Kerric Harvey (editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library -- Reference #JF 799 .H38 2014 (3 volume set)
Publication Date: 2014
"explores how the rise of social media is altering politics both in the United States and in key moments, movements, and places around the world. Its scope encompasses the disruptive technologies and activities that are changing basic patterns in American politics and the amazing transformations that social media use is rendering in other political systems heretofore resistant to democratization and change. In a time when social media are revolutionizing and galvanizing politics in the United States and around the world,"
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by James D. Wright (editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library -- Reference #H 41 .I58 2015 (26 volume set)
Publication Date: 2015
"Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields. Discusses history, current trends and future directions. Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading."
Occpuational Outlook Handbook by United States, Bureau of Labor Statistics
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: (updated annually)
Provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information for more than 300 occupational profiles covering about 4 out of 5 jobs in the economy..

stack of books

Recently published articles from the academic journal "Work & Occupations":

Recently published about jobs, unemployment, wages or occupations in the popular news source "TIme Magazine":

Print Books

The Anatomy of Work : labor, leisure, and the implications of automation. by Georges Friedmann (author) and Wyatt Rawson (translator)
Call Number: Hatfield Library -- 2nd Floor Stacks #HD 4904 .F648
Publication Date: 1961
"The consequences of narrow work specialization are critical not only for workers and employers but for civilization as a whole. In The Anatomy of Work, George Friedmann elucidates the large and small questions raised by this evolutionary moment in human labor and development."
Beyond the 9 to 5 : dismantling barriers and building economic resilience for older workers : hearing before the Special Committee on Aging, United States Senate, One Hundred Eighteenth Congress, first session, April 20, 2023. by Published by the U.S. Government Publishing Office
Call Number: Hatfield Library -- Government Documents SuDoc #Y 4.Ag 4: S.Hrg. 118-15
Publication Date: April 20, 2023
An 89 minute video recording of this same hearing of the Special Committee on Aging / U.S. Senate held on April 20, 2023 is viewable at the following URL = https://www.aging.senate.gov/hearings/beyond-the-9-to-5-dismantling-barriers-and-building-economic-resilience-for-older-workers
The Brave New World of Work by Ulrich Beck (author) and Patrick Camiller (translator)
Call Number: Hatfield Library -- 2nd Floor Stacks #HD 4901 .B393 2000
Publication Date: 2000
"Examines how work has become unstable in the modern world and presents a new vision for the future. Beck begins by describing how the traditional work society, with its lifelong job paths, is giving way to a much less stable world in which skills can be suddenly devalued, jobs obliterated, welfare cover reduced or eliminated."
Nickel and Dimed : on (not) getting by in America by Barbara Ehrenreich
Call Number: Hatfield Library -- 2nd Floor Stacks #HD 4918 .E375 2001
Publication Date: 2001
"Millions of Americans work full-time, year-round, for poverty-level wages. In 1998, the author decided to join them. She was inspired in part by the rhetoric surrounding welfare reform, which promised that a job, any job, could be the ticket to a better life. But how does anyone survive, let alone prosper, on six to seven dollars an hour? To find out, she left her home, took the cheapest lodgings she could find, and accepted whatever jobs she was offered as a woefully inexperienced homemaker returning to the workforce. So began a grueling, hair raising, and darkly funny odyssey through the underside of working America. Moving from Florida to Maine to Minnesota, she worked as a waitress, a hotel maid, a cleaning woman, a nursing home aide, and a Wal-Mart sales clerk. Very quickly, she discovered that no job is truly "unskilled," that even the lowliest occupations require exhausting mental and muscular effort."
The Sweatshop Quandary : corporate responsibility on the global frontier . by Pamela Varley; Peter Desimone;and Brenda Bateman
Call Number: Hatfield Library -- 2nd Floor Stacks ; #HD 2337 .S93 1998
Publication Date: 1998
"Addresses the issue of the responsibility of U.S. corporations for the working conditions in factories in developing countries that make their merchandise. Examines the campaign in the U.S. to improve working conditions in these factories, and considers the nature and range of labour problems which need to be dealt with. Includes case studies of Guatemala, El Salvador and Indonesia which discuss the experiences of various companies (e.g. Nike, Reebok, Gap, Liz Claibourne, Starbucks) as well brief studies of seven other countries. Presents and analyses 46 codes of conducts, and looks in particular at programmes designed to eliminate child labour."

Reference E-books / Subject Oriented Encyclopedias

The Minimum Wage : a reference handbook. by Oren M. Levin-Waldman
Call Number: Hatfield Library -- 2nd Floor Stacks #HD 4918 .L4473 2016
Publication Date: 2016
"Minimum wage inspires debate among many Americans - -from advocates who consider it beneficial to the poor and middle class to those who feel it leads to greater unemployment. This comprehensive overview examines the history, policies, and key players in the minimum wage arena and discusses the various controversies that have surrounded it. Author Oren M. Levin-Waldman presents a balanced approach to the topic, shedding light on legitimate evidence from both sides of the argument and debunking claims based on ideology, partisanship, and distortions of data."
SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society by Frederick F. Wherry and Juliet B. Schor (editors)
Call Number: Hatfieled Library -- Reference #HB 61 .S17564 2015 (4 volume set)
Publication Date: 2016
"This four-volume set brings economic topics down from the abstract stratosphere to the grounded experiences of people's lives. When the housing bubble pops, there are equations that predict it and numerical figures to size up its consquences. There are also narratives explaining how the bubble expanded, the social actors entangled in it and their values, and the social consequences of its popping.
Today's Economic Issues : Democrats and Republicans. by Nancy S. Lind;; Erik T. Rankin; and Gardenia Harris (editors
Call Number: Hatfield Library -- Reference #HC 106.84 .L56 2016
Publication Date: 2016
"Examines the two parties' respective policies, providing a detailed yet readable and understandable look at how the parties agree, disagree, and find compromise on the broad range of problems and issues facing American society in the 21st century. Each entry includes an infographic that offers bulleted 'at-a-glance' summaries of the two parties' positions on each issue today, an 'Issue Overview' providing basic definitions and background for understanding the debate on each issue, and a main entry that explains prevailing party sentiments, the diversity of opinion within each party, and the shifts in party position on that issue over time."
Working Americans, 1880-2011 -- Volume 1 the Working Class by Scott Derks (editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library -- Reference #HD 8066 .D46 2012
ISBN: 9781592375646
Publication Date: 2012-03-30
Focuses on the lifestyles and economic life of working class families and looks, decade by decade, into the kind of work they did, the homes they lived in, the food and clothes they bought, the entertainment they sought as well as the society and history that shaped the world Americans worked in from 1880 to 2012. From the wealth of government surveys, social worker histories, economic data, family diaries and letters, newspaper and magazine features, this unique reference assembles a remarkably personal and realistic look at the lives of ordinary working Americans. Each chapter opens with an overview of important events to anchor the decade in its time frame.

Movies & DVDs

How to Work a Career Fair by Billy Glading (presenter)
Call Number: Academic Video Online
Publication Date: Copyright 2015 by CandidCareer.com LLC (4 minutes)
Career fairs are one of the best ways for students to meet prospective employers and ultimately land a job. But you can't just roll out of bed and show up! Billy walks us through all the steps to make the career fair a success, from preparation to the follow ups!
Men at Work : voices from Detroit's underground economy by H. James Gilmore (director)
Call Number: Academic Video Online
Publication Date: 2012 (60 minutes documentary)
This thought-provoking and richly discussable documentary profiles a number of the original and creative individuals who are finding ways to survive in a time of turmoil. This is the story of how, in an economic climate apparently designed to ensure their failure, some resilient men find work on their own terms, get food and shelter, and raise their children -- often making up the means to do so as they go along. “Men at Work” focuses on eight essentially well-meaning men and explores their efforts to improvise a reality that succeeds for them. Although their survival strategies are largely "off the books," most have been willing, even anxious, to tell their stories.Borrow all of the seasons of the television show Grey's Anatomy through our regional library lending system (known as Summit). This is where it all began, McDreamy and all!
On the Edge : America's working poor by Ted Koppel (host) and David K. Shipler (interviewe)
Call Number: Hatfield Library -- AV Video (DVD) #HC 110 .P6 O46 2004
Publication Date: Originally aired April 15, 2004 as an episode of "Nightline" a daily news program on ABC Television
"Presents an examination of the working poor in the United States. Several families describe their lives as members of the working poor community where one unexpected expense, sudden illness, or a missed payment could mean financial ruin. The genesis of the show was a book by David Shipler, "The Working Poor. Discusses the experiences of people with low paying full-time jobs.
Trapped in Unemployment by Scott Pelley (interviewer); Joe Carbone (interviewee)
Call Number: Academic Video Online
Publication Date: Originally aired on Februrary 19, 2012. (12 minute segment from "60 Minutes" on CBS television)
The chances of finding a job are grim for the four million long term unemployed in the U.S., but Joe Carbone is looking to change that in his Connecticut town.

A -- General Works	H -- Social Sciences	Q -- Science
B -- Philosophy, Psychology, Religion	J -- Political Science	R -- Medicine
C -- Auxiliary Sciences of History	K -- Law	S -- Agriculture
D -- World History	L -- Education	T -- Technology
E -- History of the Americas	M -- Music & Books on Music	U -- Military Science
F -- History of the Americas	N -- Fine Arts	V -- Naval Science
G -- Geography, Anthropology, Recreation	P -- Language & Literature	Z -- Bibliography. Library Science

IDS 101: Work: Making a Life

Not Finding What You Need?

Search the Catalog