Find Books, Movies, Articles, and More
The Hatfield Library uses the U.S. Library of Congress Classification System to assign call numbers (addresses) to books & videos that are owned by the library. The primary shelving is sequenced in alphabetical order based on the lead character of each item's address. This shelving arrangement uses only 21 letters of the alphabet for the first character of each address. That leading letter indicates a specific clustering of topics which includes many sub-classes of subjects. This table was created by the U.S. Library of Congress Classification System to show you all of the constituent subjects that are clustered behind each of the 21 leading letters. Click on any class to view an outline of its subclasses in an interactive PDF format. Each of these links goes directly to the Library of Congress Classification Outline.
What is PEER REVIEW?
Peer-review is an evaluation process in which qualified individuals within specialized field of study review literature before it becomes published in academic journals. This process helps keep standards held by the profession, improves the quality of work being published, and provides credibility & reliability to published works & authors publishing in that field. This 3-minute video below describes and discusses the importance of peer-review and its process.
(NCSU video, 3:15 min.)
Academic Search Complete is an interdisciplinary databases that provides full text access to 8,500+ academic journals in the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, and multi-cultural journals. It also indexes nearly 12,500 peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR is a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Search term highlighting, includes high-quality images. Current editions of journals are excluded due to embargos.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Be sure your Google Scholar preferences include Willamette University as your library (under library links) to access Willamette-licensed content. For more customization & info visit our Google Scholar page.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, Christian Science Monitor, etc. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. It also contains selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics by 
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by 
The Propagation of Misinformation in Social Media : a cross-platform analysis. by 
Social Media and Hate by 
A History of Fake Things on the Internet by 
Trolling Ourselves to Death : democracy in the age of social media by 
A Dictionary of Media and Communication by 
Cyberculture: the Key Concepts by 
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media by 
The Social Network (120 minute movie) by 
Social media companies criticized as Israel-Hamas War misinformation spreads rampantly by 
History of Media Literacy, Part 2 by