Research Guides: MUSC RECIT: Music Convocation: Using the Library

Library Home Page ( library.willamette.edu )

Mark O. Hatfield Library Building

Library Building
This guide offers you a virtual tour of the library and the resources within the building that are available to you. Check out all of the great things the library has to offer!

Browse the M section of Books

This list is based off of the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

M: Music

ML: Literature on Music

MT: Instruction and Study

Online Music Reference Resources

Grove Music Online
This is the online version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the only comprehensive Music reference work in the world. It covers the history and cultures of Music around the globe in 29 volumes.
IPA Source
The web’s largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of aria and art song texts.

Streaming Music Databases

Classical Music Library
Includes recordings of music written from the earliest times (eg Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Jazz Music Library
The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
Contemporary World Music
Contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

Streaming Video Databases (Containing Musicals & Opera Performances)

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Provides videos with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Includes more than 70,000 video titles spanning a range of subject areas such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Digital Theatre Plus
Provides streamed videos in: recent British theatrical productions (Shakespeare, classics, new writing, musicals, dance, and opera); making theater (creative, productive, and technical teams; the acting company; theater management; and filmed interviews with practitioners); study guides; teaching support; and collections (performances from the Gran Teatre de Liceu; Royal Opera House, Shakespeare's Globe, Broadway Digital Archive, and National Jewish Theater).
Kanopy
Provides access to thousands of award-winning films, thought-provoking documentaries, latest festival hits, classic films, television series, and more. The collection of films support a wide variety of subject areas including the Arts, Media Studies, Politics, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, LBGTQAI+, Psychology, Business, Sciences, Health, Education, and History.

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Doreen Simonsen

Email Me

Contact:

Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343

Subjects: Art & Art History, Chinese, Cinema Studies, Classics, English, French, German, Global Cultural Studies, History, Japanese, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian, Spanish, Theatre

Hours During the Academic Year

Library Hours

Mon-Thur    7:45 a.m. -- 2 a.m.
Friday     7:45 a.m. -- 9 p.m.
Saturday    11 a.m -- 6 p.m.
Sunday      10 a.m. -- 2 a.m.

Reference Hours

Mon-Wed 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m. / 6 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Thursday 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
Friday 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m
Sat-Sun (Closed)

Contact library@willamette.edu for a research consultation.

Archives Hours

Contact archives@willamette.edu for an appointment.

Appointments available:

Mon - Fri 9 a.m. -- 12 p.m. / 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m.

Note: The library is closed to the general public at 9 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and at 5 p.m. Friday, Saturday and holidays. The library remains open to students, faculty, and staff with current Willamette ID.

More calendar info...

Course Description

All music majors are required to attend at least 8 Tuesday morning student convocations in their entirety, and 7 additional concerts/masterclasses per semester, for a total of 15 performances. At least 10 concerts each semester must be on-campus events. Concerts and recitals in which you perform can be counted toward the total. Students involved in multiple concerts or multiple performances during tours can only apply 2 of those performances toward the total of 15.

MUSC RECIT: Music Convocation: Using the Library