The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside.
Pacific Christian Advocate
A Methodist newspaper published in Salem and later Portland, Oregon printed from 1850 to 1932. It focused on news of interest to Methodists in the Oregon Territory, and later across the State of Oregon.
Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.
Provides full text to over 700 historical newspapers. Hatfield Library has series 1, which covers newspapers that began publishing in the colonial period, with some titles providing coverage into the later 1800s. Coverage: 1690-1876
Provides indexing and full text to over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900. Included are special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and other historically-significant periodicals. Coverage: 1740-1900
Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC). Eventually, it is hoped that it will contain newspapers from all U.S. states and territories. Coverage: 1836-1922
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Includes: current and historical state government publications, maps,publications of other Oregon entities, including city, county, and tribal governments, and more
The Archives Division, established in 1947, houses and provides access to the permanently valuable records of Oregon government. Oldest documents at the archives include records of the provisional and territorial governments and the Oregon Constitution.
The home page for the American Memory Historical Collections from the Library of Congress. American Memory provides free access to historical images, maps, ...
The Research Library's collections encompass library and archival materials, including books, serials, newspapers, oral histories, manuscripts, government documents, genealogical and biographical material, photographs, film, and maps.
This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics.
Salem History Project which was funded by a two year grant (2003-2005), and has not been updated since that time. Includes the Oregon Historic Photo Collection, which contains thousands of historic Oregon photographs dating from the mid 1800's, with a special focus on the City of Salem and Western Oregon communities.
The Willamette Heritage Center houses more than 13,000 objects and 200,000 photographic images. Our research library and archives contains more than 4,500 books and thousands of records.
