Research Guides: IDS 101: Africa in the Global Era: Articles/Databases

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

What is Peer-Review?

Peer-review is an evaluation process in which qualified individuals within specialized field of study reviews literature before it becomes published. This process helps keep standards held by the profession, improves the quality of work being published, and provides credibility & reliability to published work & authors publishing the work. The 5-minute video below describes and discusses the importance of peer-review and its process.

(NCSU video, 5 min.)

ARTstor

ARTstor provides a broad and deep general collection of images of world art and architecture, as well as special collections including Native American, Asian, African, American and European art.

Just Starting Your Research?

Start with this database when looking for articles in this subject area.

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 8,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 12,500 journals.

Useful Databases for this Course

Access World News
Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts. Covers local, regional, and world issues, politics, government policies, sports, industries, cultural activities, schools, and the people and events in the community.
Business Source Premier
Provides full text from nearly 3,300 journals covering business, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting and much more. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,100 journals.
CQ Researcher
Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Historical Abstracts
Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, and dissertations.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
New York Times (1980 - present)
An American daily newspaper founded, and continuously published in New York City, since 1851. The New York Times has won 104 Pulitzer Prizes, the most of any news organization.
ProQuest Political Science
Provides articles on international relations and political science.

All Databases at Willamette

Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

Full-Text Scholarly Databases

Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 322 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 12 million pages are now available.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

IDS 101: Africa in the Global Era: Articles/Databases