These newspapers come to the Hatfield Library through 3rd-party database vendors which distribute a reduced subset of articles that were found in the printed editions of each respective newspaper.
One of the major reasons for including these newspaper with nationwide audiences is that they have track records of publishing major opinion essays (often nicknamed "Op-Ed articles) and the full texts of significant speeches that have been focal points of shifts in public sentiment, industry & corporate policies, and triggering significant gatherings of public protest. Although the journalists working for these national newspapers are supposedly only the reporters of news, these publications typically receive a lot of public attention as "movers & shakers" based on their decisions of which items deserve a national audience, and which items can sit quietly in the limelight of smaller sized regional news outlets.
These access links will never allow you to see such features as crossword puzzles, daily statistical summaries (trading activity for stocks / commodities / debt instruments / foreign exchange rates) nor periodic compilations such as economic indexes / dividend payments / trading volumes / mutual funds / thumbnail look at earnings / lists of firms entering bankruptcy / legal notices. All of those features are available if you can come inside the Hatfield Library on Salem campus to handle & view the physical copies of those newspapers which the library receives in print. Many of those routine data tables are also available in online formats, but only if you purchase a personal online subscription directly with that particular newspaper.
- THE NEW YORK TIMES is not just a local daily newspaper focusing on New York City, as it has over a century long reputation for deep coverage of global news events, and a rather thick daily section dedicated solely to general business, company specific and industry news. NYT provides primary geographic coverage to firms located within the metropolitan NYC area, with secondary coverage for the entire United States, and to lesser extent, major companies from around the globe. This link treats the NYTimes as a separate stand alone database.
- WALL STREET JOURNAL is published 6 days each week covering a lot more news than what happens just along the 8 blocks of sidewalk on "Wall Street" located in New York City. For over a century, the major focus of WSJ has been all aspects of publicly traded businesses, company specific news and industries across the United States. Secondary coverage includes private firms in the metropolitan NYC area, global news about major international corporations, the global economy and foreign affairs. WSJ has gradually expanded its coverage of entrepreneurs and small sized businesses that are privately owned. This link treats the WSJ as a separate stand alone database.
- US NEWSSTREAM is a collection of over 250 participating local, statewide and regional daily newspaper from across the United States that also includes full text transcripts of participating broadcast programs (including CBS, CNN, FOX, NBC, NPR and PBS), and 20 news wire service feeds. Participating newspapers include the Washington Post (largest newspaper covering metro DC and excellent coverage of Federal government, the White House and Capitol Hill), the Chicago Tribune, the Los Angeles Times as well as the New York Times and Wall Street Journal. When you use this database, you have the unique ability to filter out articles based on certain criteria that you select.
