Listed on this page are key reference resources that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.
Encyclopedia of African Religion
Pop Culture in North Africa and the Middle East
Encyclopedia of Africa
Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African-American Experience
The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and Culture
Encyclopedia of African History
Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art: Worldview, Symbolism, and Culture in Africa, Oceania, and Native North America
Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues: An Encyclopedia
Native Peoples of the World: an Encylopedia of Groups, Cultures and Contemporary Issues
Women's Lives Around the World
The Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery
The Europa World Year Book 2015An introduction to the history of Modern Africa from the eighteenth century to the present. Topics include European colonialism and imperialism, African resistance and independence, and the legacies of colonialism from the post-independence period to today. In an effort to understand how historians reconstruct Africa's past, we will analyze primary sources drawn from African music, oral traditions, literature, and material culture. The course explores Africa's myriad cultures and contemporary issues through African eyes and considers multiple perspectives. Case studies of colonialism focus on West Africa and southern Africa. Contemporary case studies cover conflicts over land reform in South Africa and the role of China in Ghana.
