Listed below are the letters and titles of the main classes of the Library of Congress (LC) Classification. Click on any class to view an outline of its subclasses in an interactive PDF format. This list is based off of the Library of Congress Classification Outline.
Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Puerto Rico Past and Present
American Countercultures: an Encyclopedia of Nonconformists, Alternative Lifestyles, and Radical Ideas in U. S. History
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
The American Short StoryWikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content it is considered unreliable. College faculty typically do not consider Wikipedia a credible information source.
Instead, use the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your research paper. These resources have gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.
You can set up an individual research consultation with a subject librarian for research help. Here are a few other things that we can do for you:
A personal Librarian is your "go-to" person in the library. First-year students are paired up with a librarian who will be your individual contact person within the library from day one. Find your Personal Librarian here.
Library Hours
Mon-Thur 7:45 a.m. -- 2 a.m.
Friday 7:45 a.m. -- 9 p.m.
Saturday 11 a.m -- 6 p.m.
Sunday 10 a.m. -- 2 a.m.
Reference Hours
Mon-Wed 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m. / 6 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Thursday 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
Friday 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m
Sat-Sun (Closed)
Contact library@willamette.edu for a research consultation.
Archives Hours
Contact archives@willamette.edu for an appointment.
Appointments available:
Mon - Fri 9 a.m. -- 12 p.m. / 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m.
Note: The library is closed to the general public at 9 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and at 5 p.m. Friday, Saturday and holidays. The library remains open to students, faculty, and staff with current Willamette ID.
The author, journalist, political commentator, and broadcaster Will Self has argued that “The high arts of literature and music stand in a curious relationship to one another, at once securely comfortable and deeply uneasy.” This course aims to explore the various facets of that “securely comfortable and deeply uneasy” relationship by focusing mainly on short fiction and poetry (including song lyrics). How does literature represent music—as an art that people make, as an art that people consume, and as a force of personal and cultural expression? How does literature treat music as theme or subject matter? How are the relationships between fiction and music different from poetry and music? How does music become literature, and how does literature become music?
