Research Guides: IDS 101: Communication, Action, and Impact: Getting Started

Communication, Action, and Impact

What is your personal mission statement? When you take your last breath, how will this world be better for you having been here? Together we will explore our own personal values, unique ways of manifesting purpose, and how we can impact our community. We will explore successes and struggles of both large and micro social movements kickstarted by visionaries that have resulted in positive changes in the world. We will delve into the powerful role that communication plays in attracting others to join a mission-driven endeavor. And we will discover what inspires us to take action that goes beyond dreaming and planning.

Course taught by: Karen McFarlane Holman Colloquium Associate: Oscar Figueroa

Authoritative Reference Sources vs Wikipedia

Wikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content, it is sometimes considered unreliable. It is a good place to start your research, but it is best to double check what you find against other sources.

Consider consulting the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your paper. Reference books can provide a general overview of a topic and help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data; these sources often include references and lists of further readings. Additionally, these resources have typically gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.

Reference E-books

Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
Call Number: Online Access
"This four-volume set examines social movements in American history..."
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice
Call Number: Online Access
"A comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes."
The Encyclopedia of Positive Psychology
"Positive psychology, the pursuit of understanding optimal human functioning, is reshaping the scholarly and public views of how we see the science of psychology."
The Encyclopedia of Strikes in American History
"A collection of historical research on strikes in America comprised of two types of essays, those focused on an industry or economic sector and those focused on a theme."
Encyclopedia of Women in American History
Call Number: Online Access
"This illustrated encyclopedia examines the unique influence and contributions of women in every era of American history, from the colonial period to the present."
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
"This comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline."
Oxford art online
Call Number: Online Access
"Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms."