Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Find Articles
If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.
This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.
If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.
Health-Related Databases for Finding Journal Articles
Provides full text for more than 140 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
Health & Medical Collection
The Health & Medical Collection is a comprehensive medical information resource providing full-text journal content, reference ebooks, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
Public Health Database
Provides journals articles, magazines, news, reports and dissertations on public health issues.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).
Potentially Useful Databases for Finding Journal Articles & Film Reviews
Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for more than 4,450 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 7,900 journals. Over 3,500 of the full text journals are peer reviewed. Choose Document Type "Film Review."
America History and Life
The core database for U.S. and Canadian history and culture. Choose Document Type "Film Review."
Art Full Text
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes and abstracts over 600 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Full text is provided to more than 300 periodicals. Choose Document Type "Film Review" and/or "Film/Television Criticism."
Communications and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
CMMC provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. Choose Document Type "Film Review."
Film Literature Index
The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. Does not include full text.
Gale Academic OneFile
Provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Covers a wide range of topics in all disciplines. Use advanced search and limit Document Type to "Movie Review."
Indexes critical material on the modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Use advanced search, search the title of the film in one box, and in another box type in "film," and from the Select a Field pulldown menu, choose SU Subject.
Large, multidisciplinary, full text database covering all topics. Type in the title of the film you are interested in quotes and limit the Document Type to "Review."
Finding Newspaper Articles & Reviews
The databases listed below provide access to articles from a variety of newspapers. One strategy for locating reviews is to search for the title of the film and include the phrase "movie review or "film review."
Access World News
Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts. Put the title of the film in quotes in the first box and then add the term "review."
Provides recent news content outside of the US and Canada in full-text format. Search the title of the film in quotes.
Los Angeles Times (1985 - present)
Provides searchable full text. Search the title of the film in quotes.
Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers. Limit the search by Document Type and choose "Film Review."
New York Times (1980 - present)
Provides searchable full text. Use advanced search and search for the title of the film in quotes and "review."
New York Times Movie Reviews
"Our film critics on blockbusters, independents and everything in between." Probably most helpful for current films.
Provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. Search the title of the film in quotes.
A free site that "provides links to thousands of news sources covering every world's country and many of subjects. All listed sites are in English and provide free online content."