Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

Library Map & Locations: First Floor

Basic Information about the Hatfield Library for new students and employees

Locations on the First Floor

ATLASES

This is a small collection of atlases and individuals maps, such as geological maps from the United States Geological Survey.

BOUND NEWSPAPER COLLECTION

The bound newspaper collection consists of German Newspapers from the 1900s.

CHILDREN'S LITERATURE

This collection consists of a sampling of the best of children’s literature, including Caldecott and Newberry Award winners and various other award-winning books. Young adult fiction is shelved with our general collection on the second floor.

CIRCULATION DESK

Check out library materials and pick up materials ordered through Summit and interlibrary loan at the circulation desk. 

CLAREMONT SCHOOL OF THEOLOGY COLLECTIONS

The Claremont School of Theology collection offers materials on a variety of topics but mostly covers theology, religion, and philosophy.  Also, includes books written in the Korean language.

CURRENT PERIODICALS

Only the most recent issues of journals and magazines are kept on display in our current periodical area; these materials are not available for check out.  Older print periodicals are stored in our off-site storage facility.

DISPLAY AREA

This display area is used to showcase materials from our general collection on a variety of different topics or themes; the displays change periodically throughout the year to draw attention to different areas of our collection.

FACULTY WORKS

These two collections represent books written by Claremont School of Theology and Willamette University faculty.

FUNK COLLECTION

The Funk collection contains hundreds of titles that mostly focus on issues related to religion.

GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

This collection includes selected publications from the United States federal government.  These materials are organized by SuDoc numbers, a classification system designed specifically for United States government documents.

LIBRARIANS' OFFICES

Our liaison or subject librarians are located in this area.  These librarians have a variety of job duties but their primary responsibilities are to provide general reference assistance, research consultations, and course-related instruction sessions. 

MICROFILM

There are two microfilm/microfiche readers, which can scan microforms into digital formats. 

PRINTERS

Two printers are located near the circulation desk and behind the large art display wall; there is also a photocopier. Two additional printers are located on the second floor and one printer is available in the Fish Bowl.

POPULAR READING COLLECTION

This collection features current books and consists of titles not typically found in our general collection.  The collection includes popular biographies and memoirs, genre fiction like mysteries and science fiction, young adult titles, and more.  Older titles are removed periodically throughout the year and new titles are added to maintain a "fresh" selection of books. 

REFERENCE COLLECTION

The reference collection gathers together in one convenient location standard resources like encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries that will help provide answers to questions on topics in many areas of research. These materials do not check out. 

VIDEO COLLECTION

This collection consists of DVDs and VHS cassettes and includes representative films of many periods, genres, and countries.  The collection is an eclectic one that includes documentaries, foreign language films, classic movies, and even some television shows but its primary purpose is to support the curriculum.