Research Guides: Art & Art History: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Just beginning your research? Start with this general database when looking for articles in this subject area. Databases show existing articles in a specific subject area and may provide links to the full-text of an article.

Below is a database that is a great starting point for your research!

For more in-depth research...

The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list, subject, or type of resource.

Année Philologique
The online version of Annee Philologique, which provides an analytical and critical bibliography of the study of Greek and Roman antiquity. The database contains over 810,000 bibliographic records covering Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy.
Art Full Text (1984 - present)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes and abstracts over 600 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Full text is provided to more than 300 periodicals. Includes coverage of film, photography and architecture. Also indexes almost 200,000 art reproductions. 1984 - present
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Provides coverage of fine, decorative and commercial art. Indexes over 600 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, including peer reviewed journals. Includes over 25,000 book reviews. 1929-1984
Bibliography of the History of Art
Covers European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. This database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers catalogs.
Grove Art Online
A comprehensive online resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the present.
Hallie Ford Museum of Art
The Hallie Ford Museum of Art Collections currently include works of Pacific Northwest artists and images of the Museum
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 1,600 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 46 million pages are now available. JSTOR now also includes ARTstor - a broad and deep general collection of images of world art and architecture, as well as special collections including Native American, Asian, American and European art.
WU Art Images Collection
The Art Images Collection includes images of archeological sites, buildings, sculpture, paintings, and other art works from prehistory through the 21st century. The collection includes over 10,000 images chosen to support the daily teaching and research needs of Willamette University faculty and students.

How do I know if a journal is peer-reviewed?

Most article databases, including the library catalog, have an option to limit results to peer review. If there is not an option to limit, try adding "peer review" as a search term. Many databases like Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) indicate whether an article is peer reviewed.
The easiest way of determine whether a journal is peer reviewed is by using the library's catalog. Search the library's catalog for the title of the journal, and the results will indicate whether it is peer reviewed. If there is no indication, then it is not peer reviewed.
Visit the journal or publisher's website. Publishers will highlight whether a journal is peer reviewed in the description of the journal.

NOTE: Even thought a journal is deemed peer reviewed does not mean every article in the journal is peer reviewed. Book reviews, editorials, etc., do not qualify as peer reviewed. For more information, visit our guide about Peer-Review.

Journals in the library collection

Search for a journal title or browse journals by category

Art & Art History

Willamette University Libraries