Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Listed on this page are key reference resources that provide a general overview
of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include
references and lists of further readings.
Religious Studies Reference Books
Art History Reference Books
Dictionary of Art
Call Number: Ref N 31 .D5 1996
The only comprehensive art reference work in the world. It covers all the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990’s in 34 volumes. This is also available online as Grove Art Online
The Oxford Companion to Western Art by
Call Number: HAT Reference N33 .O923 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Contains entries on artists and their works, styles and movements, art forms and art terms. This is also available online
The Oxford Companion to Christian Art and Architecture by
Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks N7830 .M87 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Has over 1700 alphabetical entries, with topics ranging from biographical studies of major artists, saints, popes, patrons, and biblical figures, to detailed essays on periods and styles in art and architecture. This is also available online
Signs and Symbols in Christian Art
Call Number: Ref. N 7830 .F37
The text and illustrations reveal the symbolism inherent in representations of religious personages, the Earth and Sky, animals, birds, insects and flowers.
Encyclopedia of Women in Religious Art
Call Number: HAT Reference N7793.W65 A66 1996
Includes more than 2000 entries offering biographical, historical, and iconographic information on women in religious Art.
Dictionary of Symbols in Western Art
Call Number: Ref. N 7740 .C29 1995
Allusions in pictures are the topic of this book which is intended to be a guide to the meanings of works of art.
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art.
Call Number: Ref. N7560 .H34 1974
Emphasizes Christian and classical subject matter from western art of the Renaissance and later. Greek and Roman mythology, classical heroes, legends and ancient history are also included.
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography
Call Number: Ref. N 7565 .E53 1998
Compares the uses of iconographic themes from mythology, the Bible and other sacred texts, literature, and popular culture in works of art through various periods, cultures, and genres.
Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian
Subjects:Art & Art History
, Asian Studies
, Cinema Studies
, German & Russian
, Languages & Linguistics
, Latin American Studies
, Religious Studies