Research Guides: ARTH 351: Christian Art and Iconography: Articles/Databases

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

Useful Databases for this Course

Art Full Text (1984 - present)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 400 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English. Also indexes art reproductions.
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 300 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English. Also indexes art reproductions.
Bibliography of the History of Art (1973-2009)
The most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. This database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers.
Oxford Art Online
Contains the online version of the classic Dictionary of Art, produced by Grove, as well as online versions of the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
ATLA Religion Database
Contains citations from journal articles, essays within multi-author works, book reviews, and doctoral dissertations focusing on religion and theology, from around the world. Approximately 35% of the articles indexed are not in English.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Full-Text Scholarly Databases

Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 322 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 12 million pages are now available.

Image Databases

ARTstor
Provides a broad and deep general collection of images of world art and architecture, as well as special collections including Native American, Asian, American and European art.
Hallie Ford Museum of Art
The Hallie Ford Museum of Art Collections currently include works of Pacific Northwest artists and images of the Museum.
Academic Commons
The Willamette University Academic Commons combines the online collections of the Willamette University Archives and the Hallie Ford Museum of Art. Includes Theatre Costume images.

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Doreen Simonsen

Email Me

Contact:

Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343

Subjects: Art & Art History, Chinese, Cinema Studies, Classics, English, French, German, Global Cultural Studies, History, Japanese, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian, Spanish, Theatre

ARTH 351: Christian Art and Iconography: Articles/Databases