Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

Willamette University Archives: Home

What is an archive?

An archive collects, preserves and provides access to historical materials.

What is in an Archive?

Images: photographs, negatives, slides
Documents: yearbooks, correspondence, reports, maps, drawings
Material Culture: pennants, hats, artists' brushes
Born Digital Documents: email, pdfs, text documents
Audio/Visual Recordings: oral histories, event recordings

In the Willamette Archives: University Records

The University Records contain publications, images, administrative records, research materials, and scrapbooks dating from Willamette’s beginnings. Also available are materials relating to Freshman Glee, one of Willamette’s longest running – and most beloved – traditions.

In the Willamette Archives: Political Papers

The Political Papers collections include papers, photographs, memorabilia and audiovisual materials of elected individuals representing Oregon at the state and national level with topics of local and regional interest such as: conservation and environmental issues; women’s rights; and trade issues.

In the Willamette Archives: Pacific Northwest Artists Archive

The Pacific Northwest Artists Archive (PNAA) is a collaborative project of the Willamette University Archives and the Hallie Ford Museum of Art. It is a collection of materials related to the careers of artists who are or were active in Oregon and Washington for the major portion of their careers.

In the Willamette Archives: Personal Papers

The Personal Papers collections are manuscript collections, diaries, and the correspondence with a focus on individuals involved in regional missionary work, settling Salem, and developing Willamette University.

Archives Hours and Location

Archives & Special Collections
Mark O. Hatfield Library
2nd Floor

Appointments
Monday - Friday, 9am - 5pm

Walk-in Hours
Tuesdays 9am - 12pm
Thursdays 1pm - 4pm
Fridays: 9am - 4pm

University Archivist

Profile Photo
Susan Irwin
she/hers
Contact:
503-670-6764

Processing Archivist / Records Manager

Profile Photo
Elizabeth Peters
she/her
Contact:
503-370-6147
Website