Research Guides: Anthropology: Finding More Information

Below are a few resources to help you research the Indigenous peoples of the Americas as well as globally.

Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians (ATNI)
"ATNI is a nonprofit organization representing 54 Northwest tribal governments from Oregon, Idaho, Washington, southeast Alaska, Northern California and Western Montana. ATNI is an organization whose foundation is composed of the people it is meant to serve -- the Indian peoples." The site contains tribal information including demographics, tribal contacts, tribal web sites, and more.
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Digital Collection
This site, hosted by the University of Washington Libraries, offers a wonderful digital database of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures.
Center for World Indigenous Studies (CWIS)
CWIS is an independent, nonprofit organization and their valuable site contains documents from a number of different associations, tribal governments, and indigenous organizations and has texts of treaties as well.
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
This is a digitization of the first few volumes of an out-of-print compilation of treaties, laws, and executive orders between the U. S. Government and Native American tribes compiled by Charles J. Kappler and published between 1903 and 1904. Produced by the Oklahoma State University Library.
Native Lands
One of the best interactive digital maps available that represent Indigenous territories, languages and treaties around the world with a focus on Canada, the US, Australia and New Zealand.

The Peachite Vol. II, No. 2, Folk Festival Number, March. March, 1944. Periodical. https://www.loc.gov/item/ftvbib000164/.

Below are useful resources dedicated to folklore studies.

Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
This site provides electronic access to full-text versions of a variety of folktales and myths from around the world. D. L. Ashliman, Germanic languages and literature professor from University of Pittsburgh, is the creator of this useful collection.
American Folklife Center
The American Folklife Center in the Library of Congress was created by the U.S. Congress in 1976 through Public Law 94-201 and charged to "preserve and present American folklife." The Center includes full text publications, digital presentations of online collections and links to other resources in ethnographic studies.

Medical Anthropology is a sub-field of anthropology that focuses on the human health issues. It views humans from multidimensional and ecological perspectives. Below are some key resources for research in this area

A Companion to Medical Anthropology by Merrill Singer (Editor)
Brings together contributions by leading international authorities in medical anthropology, this reference work presents critical assessments and interpretations of a wide range of topical themes.
The Routledge Handbook of Medical Anthropology by Lenore Manderson (Editor);
The Routledge Handbook of Medical Anthropology provides a contemporary overview of the key themes in medical anthropology.

EthnoMed
The purpose of this site is "to make information about culture, language, health, illness and community resources directly accessible to health care providers who see patients from different ethnic groups. EthnoMed is a joint program of the University of Washington Health Sciences Libraries and Harborview Medical Center's Interpreter Services Department/Community House Calls Program (ISD/CHC)."

Anthropology

Willamette University Libraries