Skip to Main Content Libraries

ANTH 232: Peoples and Cultures of Africa

Reference Resources (print)

Listed on this page are key reference resources that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.

Encyclopedia of African religion
Call Number: Ref. BL2400 .E53 2009
2 volumes
Encyclopedia of the stateless nations: ethnic and national groups around the world
Call Number: Ref. D860 .M56 2002
Pop Culture in North Africa and the Middle East
Call Number: Ref. DS57 .H265 2017
Encyclopedia of Africa
Call Number: Ref. DT3 .E53 2010
2 volumes
Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience
Call Number: Ref. DT14 .A37435 2005
5 volumes
The Oxford encyclopedia of African thought
Call Number: Ref. DT14 .I74 2010
2 volumes
Encyclopedia of the African diaspora: origins, experiences, and culture
Call Number: Ref. DT16.5 .E53 2008
3 volumes
Encyclopedia of African history
Call Number: Ref. DT20 .E53 2005
3 volumes
Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art: worldview, symbolism, and culture in Africa, Oceania, and native North America by Hope B. Werness
Call Number: Ref. E98.A7 W49 2000
Native peoples of the world: an encyclopedia of groups, cultures, and contemporary issues
Call Number: Ref. GN380 .N383 2013
Encyclopedia of world cultures
Call Number: Ref. GN550 .E53
10 volumes plus a supplement
Sports Around the World: history, culture, and practice
Call Number: Ref. GV706.8 .S664 2012
4 volumes
Global encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) history
Call Number: Ref. HQ73 .G56 2019
3 volumes
Women's Lives Around the World: a Global Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. HQ1115 .W6437 2018
4 volumes
The Europa World Year Book 2020
Call Number: Ref. JN1 .E85
This resource lists the names of the main newspapers of each country.
Global Health Watch
Call Number: Ref. RA441 .G575
Older editions are available in the second floor stacks.

Statistical Information

World development indicators
"The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources."
World health statistics
"WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation."

Willamette University

Willamette University Libraries

Mark O. Hatfield Library

900 State Street.

Salem Oregon 97301

library@willamette.edu

Pacific Northwest College of Art Library

511 NW Broadway.

Portland Oregon 97209

pnca-library@willamette.edu