Research Guides: Global Cultural Studies: Finding Books

Finding Books

One of the best ways to find relevant materials for your research is using the library catalog.
Start your research journey by typing in a topic below and hitting the "search" button.

FIND BOOKS, MOVIES, & MORE!

Reference Books

Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.

(Ebook) Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
ISBN: 9780684805672

Publication Date: 2002

This stunning source explores the nutritional and cultural impact of food, with articles written by anthropologists, chefs, food historians, nutritionists, agronomists, food stylists, and other food researches."
(Ebook) Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
ISBN: 0684312700

Publication Date: 2008

Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
(Ebook) The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
ISBN: 0415409780

Publication Date: 2010

Combining anthropological theory and ethnography, it includes substantial entries, short biographies of important figures in anthropology, and glossary items.
(Print) Celebrating Life Customs Around the World: From Baby Showers to Funerals
Call Number: MOH Reference GT76 .W54 2017

ISBN: 9781440836589

Publication Date: 2016

This three-volume encyclopedia covers more than 300 birth, life, and death customs, with the books' content organized chronologically by life stage.
(Print) Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Call Number: MOH Reference GN550 .E53

ISBN: 9780816888405

Publication Date: 1991

A basic reference source to the cultures of the world. Provides descriptions of all the cultures of each region of the world or of a representative sample of cultures for regions where full coverage is impossible, as well as accurate descriptions of cultures of the past.

Browse for Books

Based on the Library of Congress Classification. The general collection of the Hatfield Library is located on the second floor.

G Geography. Atlases. Maps
GA Cartography
GB Physical geography
GC Oceanography
GE Environment Sciences
GF Human ecology
GN Anthropology
GR Folklore
GT Manners & customs
GV Recreation & Leisure

Global Cultural Studies

Willamette University Libraries