This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

CCM 202: Designing Persuasive Campaigns: Starting Point

In-Class Presentation by Gary Klein, librarian for Civic Communication & Media

What is the U.S. Census?  What is IN the Census?  What is NOT in the Census? (opens up separate WORD document) - background &  overview of major components; and a brief example of using American Fact Finder.

QUICK LOOK:  Census for any community in the United States - default search is for the entire country, then you can search for a specific State, County, City, Town or Zipcode of your choice.

How to Find Local Media; Newspapers and National magazines (detailed explanations)

Finding articles in Willamette University's own student newspaper, The Collegian (full text searchable, going back to the first issue in 1875)

If you are already familiar with the nuances of searching a full text database, then here are quick links to directly access the major newspapers mentioned in this guide:

  • - Searching the full text database of The Statesman Journal daily newspaper covering Salem and adjacent areas of Marion & Polk Counties for articles published 1999 through today
  • - Searching the full text database of The Oregonian (the largest daily newspaper in the State of Oregon)
  • - Searching the full text database of The New York Times daily newspaper for articles published 1980 through today
  • - Searching the Access Worled News database (statewide collections of participating newspapers from each state, including Oregon)
  • - Searching the Newspaper Source database to find articles in regional newspapers and transcripts of radio & television news programs.
  • - Searching the MasterFile Premier database to find articles in popular magazines & current events publications.

Examples of some relevant Surveys & Polls

- Article authored by Shawn K. Stover titled "Changing Long Held Beliefs", from Skeptic.  Published 2014.  Volume 19, Issue 3, p 54-56.  Click to retrieve from Academic Search Premier database.

- Article authored by Tanya Ryan titled "Green Intentions: An Exploratory Study on Advertising and the Environmental Movement", from Journal of Research for Consumers.  Published 2014.  Issue 26, p 76-105.  Click to retrieve article from the journal's website.

- Press Release titled "Erdos & Morgan Releases 2015 Opinion Leaders Study", from Erdos & Morgan, Inc.  Published December 15, 2015.  Click to retrieve from Erdos & Morgan's website.

- "Opinion Leaders and The Economist: - Erdos and Morgan Opinion Leaders Study 2015."  Published January 2016 byThe Economist.  Click to retrieve this promotional brochure from The Economist's website.

- "Washington Post Rated as Top Source inside the Beltway"  Published December 12, 2015 by News On News.  Click to retrieve this promotional brochure from the  News On News website.

Examples of campus wide campaigns or surveys written up as scholarly journal articles

Comprehensive research articles detailing all of the strategic steps used by different universities in North America to measure the pulse of college campuses & students regarding sustainability projects on those same campuses.

  •  - "A Communication Approach to Campus Bottled Water Campaigns", by Cecilia O’Donnell and Ronald E. Rice, from Social Marketing Quarterly.  Published December 2012.  Volume 18, Issue 4, p. 255-273.  Click to retrieve from the author's website

  •  - "What's Wrong with the Tap? Examining Perceptions of Tap Water and Bottled Water at Purdue University", by Amber Saylor, Linda Prokopy and Shannon Amberg, from Environmental Management.  Published September 2011.  Volume 48, Issue 3, p. 588-601.  Click to retrieve from the journal's website.

  •  - "Behaviors, Motivations, Beliefs, and Attitudes Related to Bottled Water Usage at Weber State University", by Anthony King, Zackary Bjerregaard, Matthew Booth, Shannon Clugston, Miles Dittmore, Stephen Fossett, Dusty Pilkington, Pieter Sawatzki, and Carla Koons Trentelman, from The Journal of the Utah Academy of Sciences, Arts, & Letters.  Published 2014.  Volume 91, pages 191-211.  Click to retrieve from the journal's website.

  •  - "Changing Norms by Changing Behavior: the Princeton Drink Local Program", by Jessica M. Santos and Sander van der Linden, from Environmental Practice: journal of the National Association of Environmental Professionals.  Published April 2016.  Volume 18, Issue 2, p. 116-122.  Click to retrieve from the publisher's website.

  •  - "Planet Activism: Students Further Their Environmental Passions through Clubs and Groups", by Kim Fernandez, from Community College Journal.  Published October/November 2010.  Volume 18, Issue 2, p. 34-36 and 38-39.  Click to retrieve from the database's website.

  •  - "Written Messages Improve Edible Food Waste Behaviors in a University Dining Facility", by Kelly J. Whitehair; Carol W. Shanklin and Laura A. Brannon, from Journal of the Academic of Nutrition & Dietetics.  Published January 2013.  Volume 113, Issue 1, p. 63-69.  Click to retrieve from the database's website.

  •  - "50 Shades of Green: An Examination of Sustainability Policy on Canadian Campuses", by Philip Vaughter; Tarah Wright and Yuill Herbert, from S Canadian Journal of Higher Education / Revue Canadienne d'Enseignement Superieur.  Published 2015.  Volume 45, Issue 4, p. 81-100.  Click to retrieve from the journal's website.

Gary Klein (Reference Librarian)