Listed below are the letters and titles of the main classes of the Library of Congress (LC) Classification. Click on any class to view an outline of its subclasses in an interactive PDF format. This list is based off of the Library of Congress Classification Outline.
Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
A Dictionary of Ancient near Eastern Mythology
Modern Germany
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World
Encyclopedia of Russian History
The Routledge Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Political Thinkers
Encyclopedia of German LiteratureWikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content it is considered unreliable. College faculty typically do not consider Wikipedia a credible information source.
Instead, use the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your research paper. These resources have gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.
You can set up an individual research consultation with a subject librarian for research help. Here are a few other things that we can do for you:
A personal Librarian is your "go-to" person in the library. First-year students are paired up with a librarian who will be your individual contact person within the library from day one. Find your Personal Librarian here.
Library Hours
Mon-Thur 8 a.m. -- Midnight
Friday 8 a.m. -- 6 p.m.
Saturday 10 a.m. -- 6 p.m.
Sunday 10 a.m. -- Midnight
Reference Hours
Mon-Wed 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
6 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Thursday 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
Friday 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m
Saturday (Closed)
Sunday (Closed)
Archives Hours
Contact: archives@willamette.edu for an appointment.
Note: The library is open to the general public Monday-Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. and on Saturday from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Diderot Encyclopedia : The Complete Illustrations, 1762-1777 by Denis Diderot
A Diderot Pictorial Encyclopedia of Trades and Industry; Manu-facturing and the Technical ArtsThe modern Western novel, an extended prose narrative telling of a hero's often life-changing experience, has its roots in the Mesopotamian epic of "Gilgamesh", first recorded on clay tablets ca. 2100 BC. The figure of Gilgamesh, a historically attested Sumerian king who chose friendship over family, who failed in his quest to achieve physical immortality but left behind one of the most enduring monuments to man's search for the meaning of life in the face of inconsolable grief, was a major influence on Homer as he composed the story of Odysseus. And, Homer's Odyssey, considered by many to be the "first novel" of Western civilization, has proved to be a formative influence on Western literature. We will explore how the development of the familiar literary form of the novel over the course of millennia was a product of man's developing sense of self, changing understanding of the relationship to the divine, and desire to understand the purpose of life, through these two "proto-novels" and a series of key works such as Dostoyevsky's Crime and Punishment and Hermann Hesse's Rosshalde.
