Research Guides: IDS 101: Black Atlanta: Articles/Databases

What is Peer-Review?

Peer-review is an evaluation process in which qualified individuals within specialized field of study reviews literature before it becomes published. This process helps keep standards held by the profession, improves the quality of work being published, and provides credibility & reliability to published work & authors publishing the work. The 5-minute video below describes and discusses the importance of peer-review and its process.

(NCSU video, 3 min.)

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a full-text interdisciplinary database that can filter to peer-reviewed and full-text literature. This is great resource for starting your research.

Full-Text Scholarly Databases

Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 1,600 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 46 million pages are now available.

Useful Databases for this Course

America: History and Life
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Historical New York Times, 1851-2006
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).